SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Get coverage value in given regions AndreaIzq Bioinformatics 5 07-04-2013 08:32 AM
Coverage in given regions AndreaIzq Bioinformatics 1 06-20-2013 01:27 PM
Extremely high Coverage in some regions JMFA Bioinformatics 2 01-11-2013 03:42 AM
When viewing a BAM, can you specify regions of a certain coverage? oiiio Bioinformatics 3 01-10-2012 07:59 AM
downsampling high coverage regions in SAGs novi Bioinformatics 0 06-30-2011 02:28 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2014, 12:55 PM   #1
Bakhtiyar Taghizada
Junior Member
 
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Default Coverage in centromeric regions

I have a sequenced paired end data of S.cerevisisae, sequenced by Illumina, I was wondering why there is low coverage in the centromeric regions compared to the rest of the genome. There are centromeric regions that even do not have any coverage. My average coverage is 30, and the reads are 100bp long. The fragments that was sequenced had a length of 600bp (reads are 100bp form one end and 100bp from other , paired reads)
Bakhtiyar Taghizada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 05:57 AM   #2
TiborNagy
Senior Member
 
Location: Budapest

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 329
Default

Centromeric regions contain repeats. Aligners put reads to one position, even if the read can be aligned to several places. See the program's documentation to change this behviour.
TiborNagy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO