No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Weird bioanalyser profile

Dear all,
    I am trying to set up ChIP-seq in our lab. My problem is that, following ChIP, the bioanalyser profile of my input and samples is very different. The input shows plenty of material in the 2-300bp range. However, all my ChIP samples show a peak at around 90bp and go to baseline after that (see attached).
    Just to give you some info on the procedure I am using:
    Starting with 7 x 10^7 cells (Drosophila Kc cells)
    Fix with 1% formaldehyde for 10 minutes
    Sonicate with the Bioruptor for 7 pulses (30secs ON 30secs OFF)
    (I've optimised the number of pulses to make sure I get a smear of between 100bp and 1Kb when I look at an aliquot on a gel following reversal of crosslinking)
    I block samples with Rabbit IgG for 3-5 hours and treat with the antibody for the TF I am studying O/N.
    The beads are agarose G. I do the RNase, reversal of crosslinks and Proteinase K steps, and do Phenol-Chloroform extraction to purify using Glycoden and carrier tRNA.
    I have also done this exact procedure with the positive control H3K4me3. qPCR indicated an enrichment of a positive site by 40-50% so I assumed the ChIP had worked. However, the bioanalyser profile is the same as for my samples with a peak at 90bp and nothing bigger.
    If anyone has seen this kind of thing before and has any ideas I'd be really grateful.
    Thank you!
    Attached Files

The spike and dip is present also in input, and is likely instrument related. I would not expect to see a mear on the dna1000 chip, we usually can not detect our sample on hs chips before library amplification.

Comment