SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An error in installation of HTSeq with numpy hibachings2013 RNA Sequencing 7 08-26-2013 04:44 AM
HTSeq installation: error: command 'c++' failed with exit status 1 Boel Bioinformatics 1 02-22-2011 11:21 PM
HTSeq: Problem with installation dariober Bioinformatics 8 11-16-2010 06:24 AM
python / HTSeq installation problem dariober Bioinformatics 0 10-14-2010 03:01 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2011, 06:28 AM   #1
madhuk11
Junior Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Question help with HTSeq installation

Hi,
I am trying to install HTSeq-0.5.3p3 from the source package (as I failed to use available HTSeq-0.3.7 binary package with python 2.6). Downloaded into a Downloads folder and tried as advised for Windows (at http://www-huber.embl.de/users/ander...c/install.html). Ended up with cc1.exe error with options -mno-cygwin (I have both mingw and cygwin on the system, but removed cygwin later!).
Buidling and Installation were successful without specifying the compiler (python setup.py build; python setup.py install) in the commandline shell. However, I did not detect any HTSeq packages added to site-packages folder. Below is the output on the screen.

running install
running bdist_egg
running egg_info
writing HTSeq.egg-info\PKG-INFO
writing top-level names to HTSeq.egg-info\top_level.txt
writing dependency_links to HTSeq.egg-info\dependency_links.txt
reading manifest file 'HTSeq.egg-info\SOURCES.txt'
reading manifest template 'MANIFEST.in'
no previously-included directories found matching 'example_data'
no previously-included directories found matching 'test'
warning: no previously-included files found matching 'todo.txt'
writing manifest file 'HTSeq.egg-info\SOURCES.txt'
installing library code to build\bdist.win32\egg
running install_lib
running build_py
running build_ext
building 'HTSeq._HTSeq' extension
error: None

Do I need to transfer any files/folder manually into python?
Thanks.
madhuk11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 07:23 AM   #2
Simon Anders
Senior Member
 
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 994
Default

After running "python setup.py build", have you also run "python setup.py install"? The latter moves the files to were they will be found by Python.
Simon Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 02:54 AM   #3
madhuk11
Junior Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Yes. After install command, I saw the screen telling me successful installation (and pasted the log in my last posting, setupTools installed). I did not see any files moved to Lib\site-packages. When I say,
>>>import numpy
>>> (successful)
>>>import HTSeq
Not found!
I had earlier tried using HTSeq-0.3.7 (binary package) that was installed and HTSeq could be found in Lib\site-packages. However, import HTSeq gave me an error (numpy.pxd; numpy 1.6.1 wasn't proper?).

I retried (uninstalling Python 2.6, numpy and then, reinstalling); following the log below, still could not locate HTSeq in site-packages folder.

Could not import 'setuptools', falling back to 'distutils'.
running install
running build
running build_py
running build_ext
building 'HTSeq._HTSeq' extension
error: None

Yet, when I inspect HTSeq folder, nothing seem to have happened!

Binary packages seem to install o.k. However, failed to execute (numpy.pxd!). Do I really need numpy-devel? I don't see it at PyPI site.
Thanks.

Last edited by madhuk11; 12-07-2011 at 06:21 AM.
madhuk11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 03:30 AM   #4
madhuk11
Junior Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default HTSeq 0.5.3p3 binary

Is it possible to obtain a binary version of HTSeq 0.5.3p3 as available 0.3.7 does not work with numpy 1.6.1. I have been managing counting with a java code; I can not use annotation files (gff; that would make better sense) with my code; so, it is now restricted to using cDNA index for alignments. If you are willing to send it, I can give you my email id. Thanks.
madhuk11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 10:04 AM   #5
wangli
Member
 
Location: Texas

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 48
Default

I tried to install HTseq 0.5.3 source package, but Xcode is not installed on my computer, and I cannot get it installed now. Do anyone know where i can get the binary package of HTseq, which doesnot require Xcode installed?
wangli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO