Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm a total newbie and would love some help!

Hello everyone,

First of all, you have no idea how great it feels to find this place. I'm a programmer/comp. scientist and totally new to bioinformatics. I need to do some analysis for a job and I have no clue about many things.

Here's the story:

I am given a huge data set for 15 subjects with some sort of disease and I'm supposed to analyse it to find out common SNPs for that disease. Each data set contains a huge amount of fastq sequences such as this one:

@1:1:1166:20230:Y
    GAATGTAGATTTCTTCTAACACACAACACATNCATG
    +
    DDD?DBEEEED?DEE?EEDE?B5?CC########

My questions are (I apologize in advance if they are too many and too stupid to ask, please bear with me):

1- I know now that I need to do adapter trimming and quality filtering. For that, don't I need to be given the 'adapter' sequences? if not, where do I find common adapter sequences? Also, how long should the adapter sequences be? as you can see, my fastq sequence is 36 bp long. How do I determine how much of it as adapter?

2- What are indexed samples? or better said: what is my reference for indexing my cleaned up sequence?

3- Can you give an outline for the logical steps that i will need to follow to implement my analysis? (all I will need is the order of each step at a very high level and I will dig into it).

4- Why do I need two files each with a read from a different direction, for each subject?

Thank you, much appreciated and sorry

Welcome to the wonderful world of bioinformatics zhacker.