Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Many, many dumb newbie questions

I'm just jumping into bioinformatics, especially the algorithms and analysis tools end of the pool (my background is databases and compression.). I'm now getting most interested in massive alignment (both to a reference and denovo). So I'm simultaneously reading forum posts here, studying algorithms texts like Gusfield, breezing through the Cartoon Guide to Genetics, but mostly reading the scientific papers for all the assembly tools. (Side note, the biology community has a lot better organization and accessibility of scientific papers! The CS community has a big ACM and IEEE bias, which both discourage online paper sharing since they want their download fees per paper..)

Anyway, here's a ton of questions from my notes, and I'd love for any simple answers or pointers. It's fine to just give some answers, or a pointer or link, or even quick four word answers which would be enough for me to branch my search off of. I appreciate any help!

In no particular order, here's my shotgun blast of newbie questions. These are mostly about new generation sequencing, and mapping them to a genome and/or doing a denovo assembly with them.
    • When a sequencer spits out its sequences, they must be huge.. are they just saved as big flat files in ASCII ATTCGTAGCA characters, or are they compressed (two bits per bp, with a header)? Does each sequencer (Solid, 454, etc) have its own format? Or is SAM/BAM now standardized and most common?
      Are many runs put into one file (probably.. or you'd have 1B files of a few hundred bytes, ugh!)
    • If you've made a big sequencing run, how do you move the data around? Isn't it tens of gigabytes for a reasonably complex run? Everyone just uses FTP over their fiber net connections?
    • Do people tend to try to compress these big lists of sequences using standard tools like gzip or 7zip? Or is it not worth it?