No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SNP calling on low coverage NGS data

Hi,

I am new to SNP calling and would appreciate some input. I want to try and call SNP's for a specific organisms. The hurdles I have is, I do not have a reference genome to map against and I have a very low coverage 4x per organisms.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

The problem is the following: If you do not have reference genome, you need a de-novo assembly. You can find heterozygous positions in de-novo (which can be called SNPs), but in you case only two reads support this hipothesis.
    So, use this sequences to create a reference and sequence other samples to find SNPs or make a higher coverage sequencing from the initial sample.

Comment

4X read depth can be even more misleading, since at heterozygous loci you will sometimes get 2 reads per allele, but also 3 reads to one allele vs 1 read for the other, or even 4 reads to one allele and no reads for the other. On the other hand, any allele supported by a few reads is probably real; you just can't fully genotype the sample but you can identify SNPs.

Genotyping by sequencing was developed to solve this problem. By sequencing only 10,000-100,000 loci across a genome, the reads attain good depth with a small amount of sequencing. We do genotyping by sequencing, as do other companies and academic cores. You don't need a reference for the informatics, but rather the reads can just be compared from sample to sample using a core set of reads representing the loci as a reference.
      Providing nextRAD genotyping and PacBio sequencing services. http://snpsaurus.com

Comment

You are in trouble. 4x is not enough for de novo assembly, and it is not really enough for calling homozygous SNPs, let alone heterozygous ones.