No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with Cufflinks in command line

Hello,
    I am new to programming/command line and am having trouble with the simplest of tasks I am sure. I am used to using Galaxy for analysis but I am trying to go towards programming/command line usage. I am trying to run cufflinks via command line but got the following error:

You are using Cufflinks v2.0.2, which is the most recent release.
    Error: cannot open reference GTF file /--GTF for reading

Here is my input text into the command line(could have errors but I am not sure):

cufflinks -G/--GTF /Users/chriscard/Desktop/Galaxy2-\[UCSC_Main_on_Cow__all_mrna_\(genome\)\].gtf /Users/chriscard/Desktop/Galaxy14-\[Tophat_high_fert__accepted_hits\].bam o- /Users/chriscard/Desktop/Command_Line_Output

I plan on using tophat eventually as the first step to command line data analysis but for now I just tried to pull the .bam file from a tophat run off of one of my successful galaxy runs as well as the .gtf file for the reference mRNA that I want cufflinks to use(this is successful via Galaxy). Is there something wrong with my input text into command line? Do I need a different mRNA .gtf file? Sorry if this seems like a very simple task to be having problems with, trying to dive head first into this command line and coding stuff via a couple books I have started reading.

Thank You,
    Chris

Good on you for leaving Galaxy and going for it on the command line.

The reason you're seeing this error is actually explained in the error, but if you're not used to command line work it won't seem that way.

-G/--GTF

is being interpreted as passing the 'argument' of /--GTF to the 'flag' -G

When you've read the command line you have assumed that you need -G/--GTF because that's what the manual says (no shame in taking it literally) however -G is the same as --GTF and the "/" just means 'use one or the other'.