Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• reference mapping database in RNA-seq, which one is best? UCSC or Ensembl?

Hi everyone, I am a rookie in RNA-Seq.
    When I do the reference mapping in RNA-seq, what is the advantage of each reference genome database(UCSC, NCBI or Ensembl)?
    Which one could I use? or no matter what I use?
    Do I need to uniform the database in different species (e.g. all species use the UCSC database)?

Last edited by super0925; 05-01-2014, 05:37 AM.

I don't think there is a "best" database. At a minimum you should plan to stick with one source for all analysis.

UCSC's annotations are conservative as compared to the Ensembl (which may have several computational predictions in the genome annotation GTF files).

Illumina has an expanded iGenomes source available here: http://support.illumina.com/sequenci...e/igenome.ilmn

Comment

Originally posted by GenoMax View Post
      I don't think there is a "best" database. At a minimum you should plan to stick with one source for all analysis.

UCSC's annotations are conservative as compared to the Ensembl (which may have several computational predictions in the genome annotation GTF files).

Illumina has an expanded iGenomes source available here: http://support.illumina.com/sequenci...e/igenome.ilmn
      Thank you for your remind.
      I use Btau_4.0 (Ensembl) in cow but hg19 (UCSC) in human.
      It seems that I need to make cow and human both stick to Ensembl (or UCSC).

Comment

Originally posted by super0925 View Post
        It seems that I need to make cow and human both stick to Ensembl (or UCSC).
        Not strictly. They are two different genomes, after all.

I just was pointing out that there are annotation differences between UCSC/Ensembl. If you are planning to use tuxedo suite you may run into some problems with the GTF files because of the content differences.

Comment

Not strictly. They are two different genomes, after all.