No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• using bwt to align 454 reads

Hello All,

First of all I am very new at this NGS sequence analysis.
    I have a sff file generated by the 454 machine.
    In it I have 500000 reads
    200000 of them are <200bp
    300000 of them are >200bp (but less than 600bp)

I want to use bwt to align the reads to a reference:

1) Do I have to separate the short reads from the longer ones? if yes what is the fastest way to do so?
    2) What input files can I use with bwt. fasta? fastq?
    The 454 machine did not give any fastq files. I made one using the perl script that came with bwt. (how reliable is that perlscript)?

at the moment I am issuing the following command:

a) index the reference first
    bwa index -p ref_index -a is my_ref.fa (note: my reference is 1.5MB that is why I am using '-a is')

b) align the reads to reference

bwa aln -t 4 ref_index my_reads.fasta > my_reads.bwa

c) convert to SAM

bwa samse ref_index my_reads.bwa my_reads.fasta > my_reads.sam

Are steps a to c right?
    I read that I should use 'bwa bwasw' to align long reads.

Any guidance you are able to provide is greatly appreciated!!!1

Thanks
    Noah

hi haonmada,

have you read this, FAQ on http://bio-bwa.sourceforge.net/

according to bwa manual, for 454 reads you should use bwa bwasw, and for short reads less than 200 bp sensitivity is lower.

i am attaching

1) bioperl script for extracting reads greater than 200 bp, just change ">" sign to "<" sign in condition it will extract reads < 200p.

-- usage - change file.fasta to yourfile.fasta

2) perl script for converting fasta and qual file into fastq file.
    Attached Files

Comment

Thanks for the Info ketan_bnf!

Yes I know about the "bwa bwasw" component of bwa. That is what confusing me at the moment.

As I mentioned in the post I have a mixture of short reads and long reads. should I separate them and run them separately? or just use 'bwa bwasw' on all?