No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how to deal with 16S rDNA data form Illumina

Hi Everyone,
    I am very new in the field of Bioinformatics, I have a sequencing data from Ilumina of 16S r DNA from water. I got the quality score distribution of the data and it lies within 30 -35 range, which means it is a good data to start with. I want to know what will be the next step to deal with this data.
    I am thinkng of doing this:
    1) Blast the data with ribosomal data base

Can anyone provide me some idea how to start with this data.

Thanks for any help!!!!!

How many reads do you have? The more reads you have the longer it takes (sometimes even 3 months) so it's probably not a good idea. You should check if you can make your dataset smaller.
    Maybe you should also try to use another program than BLAST, it is slower than alot of different tools, like: https://github.com/csmiller/EMIRGE
    If it still takes a long time let me know, I can help you search for some other things too.

Good luck.

Comment

Originally posted by newBioinfo View Post
      Hi Everyone,
      I am very new in the field of Bioinformatics, I have a sequencing data from Ilumina of 16S r DNA from water. I got the quality score distribution of the data and it lies within 30 -35 range, which means it is a good data to start with. I want to know what will be the next step to deal with this data.
      I am thinkng of doing this:
      1) Blast the data with ribosomal data base

Can anyone provide me some idea how to start with this data.

Thanks for any help!!!!!
      Take a look at QIIME (www.qiime.org, and the overview tutorial there) or mothur (www.mothur.org). Those provide standard pipelines for dealing with 16S sequences. Blasting some of the sequences against a database such as RDP or greengenes is usually part of the pipeline.

Comment

Originally posted by RickBioinf View Post