No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• commercial software in sequencing analysis

Hi,

I just got some funding to purchase commercial software for next generation sequencing data analysis, but I'm very new in sequencing analysis.

Could anyone give me a list of the commonly used commercial software?

Thanks a lot in advance!
    slny

Informatics core facility

I feel you are better off spending the funding with a local core bioinformatics facility that is willing to train you with the skills to use open source software. This field is changing so rapidly that the analysis you do this year will require a completely new software bundle in 4 months. Many of the commercial software out there can be as high as $5,000 a year! You can get a lot of training and data analyzed for that amount of money. Commercial software are usually black box that do specific tasks that may or may not be what you need for your specific biological question of interest.

Open source solutions
    Need an alignment done? GSNAP
    Need it done fast? SOAP3-dp
    Need SNPS/InDels? GATK
    RNA-Seq? Diff Exp? Quasi-Seq, DESeq, DEXSeq, EdgeR, cuffDiff?
    Filtering reads? ShortRead, Fastxtoolkit
    Genome Assembly AllPaths-LG, Velvet, Ray, Soap-Denovo,
    Transcriptome assembly Velvet/Oases, Soap-DenovoTrans, Ray,
    Metagenomics Meta-Velvet
    And it goes on and on.

**This may be biased since I run a core facility but I wouldn't be doing what I love if I didn't believe it was the way to go**

Comment

I fully agree with severin's comments,

but it is possible that

a) slny does not have access to a local bioinformatics core that can be called/relied upon
      b) if there is a core available it may be understaffed and/or not responsive to needs of a small PI/single user
      c) funding slny acquired may need to be used for the specific purpose of buying software