Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are Illumina library fragment lengths actually normally distributed?

I see in many bioinformatics papers assumptions that the fragment lengths for Illumina data are be normally distributed. I've seen some datasets for which this doesn't seem to be the case, however. I've seen what look like very skewed and bimodal distributions in some of the 1000 Genomes Project data.

I'm a computer scientist, so I don't know much about what to expect this data to look like or why it would have a given fragment length distribution. I've been searching for the past couple days for a reference, but I've come up empty.

Is there anyone here that can help me understand this better or point me to a resource where I could learn more? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

A lot of this is going to depend on how the library was prepared in terms of size selection.

For example, one technique is to use electrophoresis to sort by size & then cut out a specific band. These sorts of libraries may have a size distribution which is very close to uniform within very specific bands -- i.e. you might have essentially nothing larger or smaller than a defined range. The reality is probably a little bit of blurring of that boundary, but I'm guessing not a lot.

Size selection with beads, on the other hand, probably isn't quite as sharp and perhaps is more like a normal (I haven't looked). Nextera would probably be different again. Some libraries prep protocols I think rely solely on the shearing device to generate a population.