SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recompute Mapping Quality of Single Reads? svos Bioinformatics 4 03-17-2015 08:54 AM
BWA mapping for SOLiD single-end reads PedroA Bioinformatics 7 12-13-2012 12:07 PM
sequencing a single chromosome asling Bioinformatics 0 12-14-2011 08:30 AM
Bowtie to align reads to single chromosome or region? jjw14 Bioinformatics 1 10-07-2010 07:20 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2015, 03:54 AM   #1
rodrigo.duarte88
Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 10
Default mapping reads to single human chromosome

Dear colleagues,

I have started working with RNAseq very recently and got stuck with the following:

- Should I map my reads to the whole human genome or only to the chromosome I am interested?

I've seen mapping to a single chromosome can skew my data, but it took 2 days for tophat to map the reads of a single RNAseq library to a single chromosome (I am on an octa-core PC running Ubuntu).

Should I definitely buy access to a cluster or there are ways to over come this?
rodrigo.duarte88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 04:12 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,088
Default

Sounds like you are not using multiple threads on your PC (-p option, not all parts of tophat are threaded so don't expect "n" fold speed-up).

Do you have an extraordinarily large input data set?
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 04:36 AM   #3
rodrigo.duarte88
Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 10
Default

I did use this option. I used all 8 cores of my PC, the machine (the cooling fan) sounded like a train for those 2 days. haha

Because our lab is interested in allele specific expression, we aimed for high depth of sequencing. Each fastq file generated (Forw and Rev) contains approx 170 million reads each.

I know in the long term using a cluster will be essential.. But now for primary analysis I am wishing I didn't need one..
rodrigo.duarte88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 04:46 AM   #4
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,088
Default

If your primary objective of getting the mapping done is now over then you could move on to other analysis

If you expect to do this for multiple samples then using a more robust computational resource is a no-brainer. Using a single chromosome (or even the region where you gene of interest is) is a possibility but due to the short nature of illumina reads you may get false positive hits (to regions of common domains/repeats etc).
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
newbie, rnaseq, single sample, tophat, transcript discovery

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO