SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Find SNP in Sanger sequenced gene genelab Bioinformatics 2 03-10-2014 11:35 PM
Anyone has protocol for Ion PES protocol? marcowanger Ion Torrent 1 01-18-2012 08:28 PM
Coverage required for Sanger based SNP detection and Genotyping gavin.oliver De novo discovery 3 08-30-2011 12:41 AM
illumina alternative v1.5 protocol for small rna seq vs. the standard protocol ik76 Sample Prep / Library Generation 1 03-25-2010 02:24 PM
454 Vs Sanger sdstella 454 Pyrosequencing 1 05-04-2009 06:29 AM

Old 07-26-2011, 09:27 AM   #1
shuang

Default Protocol for SNP from Sanger sequences

My project is to find SNP from Sanger sequences. I've never done before. Here is some steps I could think of to achieve my purpose. Please suggest appropriate free tools/software for each step. Please let me know if I miss any steps.

Step 1: quality trim a ABI file (to Fasta).

Step 2: align with a reference genome (input Fasta, output Sam?)

Step 3: parse the output file to retrieve SNP?
shuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:07 PM   #2
maubp
Peter (Biopython etc)

Why use FASTA? I'd use FASTQ so that any quality scores in the read can be taken into consideration in the mapping and SNP calling. EMBOSS seqret can do this conversion (taking the sequence and quality scores as is from the ABI file), but I'd suggest using a base caller like trace tuner which seems to do a better job than the ABI default pipeline. I wrote a patch to get FASTQ from TraceTuner directly, not sure if it has been integrated yet.

For the mapping step, do you have DNA or RNA reads? And if RNA does your organism do gene splicing? If so, you'll want an intron/exon aware read mapper.

Last edited by maubp; 07-28-2011 at 12:13 PM. Reason: Added more details
maubp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 05:55 PM   #3
DZhang