SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error "RG ID on SAMRecord not found in header" from Picard's MarkDuplicates.jar‏ cliff Bioinformatics 4 11-10-2011 03:27 AM
"allele balance ratio" and "quality by depth" in VCF files efoss Bioinformatics 2 10-25-2011 11:13 AM
Relatively large proportion of "LOWDATA", "FAIL" of FPKM_status running cufflink ruben6um Bioinformatics 3 10-12-2011 12:39 AM
The position file formats ".clocs" and "_pos.txt"? Ist there any difference? elgor Illumina/Solexa 0 06-27-2011 07:55 AM
"Systems biology and administration" & "Genome generation: no engineering allowed" seb567 Bioinformatics 0 05-25-2010 12:19 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-01-2010, 01:23 PM   #1
cs
Junior Member
 
Location: us

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Question tophat v1.1.1 - "warning: multiple closures found for read"

Hello all,
using tophat v1.1.1 x86_64 for paired-end (2-lanes) Illumina RNAseq
data, in the file "logs/long_spanning_reads.log" I see many messages
"warning: multiple closures found for read", using specified min-intron-length
and max-intron-length values. Is this something to be concerned about?
Do any parameters need to be adjusted?

Is this related to the bug-fix corrected in v1.1.2 released Oct 26 - "A sorting issue for pairs that align in multiple places has been fixed". Thanks.
cs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 07:02 AM   #2
Daehwan
Member
 
Location: College Park

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cs View Post
Hello all,
using tophat v1.1.1 x86_64 for paired-end (2-lanes) Illumina RNAseq
data, in the file "logs/long_spanning_reads.log" I see many messages
"warning: multiple closures found for read", using specified min-intron-length
and max-intron-length values. Is this something to be concerned about?
Do any parameters need to be adjusted?

Is this related to the bug-fix corrected in v1.1.2 released Oct 26 - "A sorting issue for pairs that align in multiple places has been fixed". Thanks.
As you know, TopHat is a spliced read mapper, and for unmapped reads, TopHat tries to fill the gaps in them using user-provided or novel junctions (closures), but for some gaps, there seem to be more than one candidate junction for a gap where only one of them could be a true junction. TopHat, for such a case, doesn't fill the gaps.
Daehwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO