SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is left end (_1.fq) of normally mapped reads always positive strand? bioiion Illumina/Solexa 2 02-15-2012 07:19 AM
Reads not mapped in proper pair: Bowtie output RGP Bioinformatics 4 12-14-2011 06:21 AM
paired-end reads mapped to genome.. gene with only one direction of paired-end reads? danwiththeplan Bioinformatics 2 09-22-2011 02:06 AM
tophat paired reads mapped to different chromosomes wenhuang Bioinformatics 3 06-23-2010 05:23 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2011, 12:29 PM   #1
zack80.liu
Junior Member
 
Location: TX

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Unhappy Paired-end reads mapped 50% while each pair reads mapped 80%

Hi all,

I am new to the RNA seq world. I have processed bunch of illumina paired end reads. The reported alignment is only 49%.. When I use bowtie to map each pair of the paired-end reads, I got 80% of the reads mapped.

bowtie -n 3 -p 10 --best -e 200 --trim5 15 --trim3 25 --sam BowtieIndexes/mm9 -1 Raw_files/sample-1_export.fq -2 sample-2_export.fq sample.sam


# reads processed: 21482797
# reads with at least one reported alignment: 10637665 (49.52%)
# reads that failed to align: 10845132 (50.48%)
Reported 10637665 paired-end alignments to 1 output stream(s)


I was wondering if this is normal. Here's the command and output. Thanks.

P.S.: This is my 3rd post on this forum. I posted a similar question in my 2nd post. However, I can no longer reply that post.


----- I couldn't post a reply, so here it goes ----

Isn't it that tophat also uses bowtie to align reads?

Last edited by zack80.liu; 03-02-2011 at 02:48 PM.
zack80.liu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 02:07 PM   #2
frozenlyse
Senior Member
 
Location: Australia

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 136
Default

You shouldn't be using bowtie for RNA-seq (especially with PE reads) - try tophat or another one of the splicing-aware aligners
frozenlyse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 02:45 PM   #3
zack80.liu
Junior Member
 
Location: TX

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Isn't tophat also use bowtie to do the alignment?
zack80.liu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 01:06 AM   #4
fkrueger
Senior Member
 
Location: Cambridge, UK

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 624
Default

Dear Zack,

The most likely explanation would indeed be that a sizeable fraction of you library fragments are spanning a splice junction. In these cases many fragments in your library are longer than the allowed Bowtie default fragment size of 250bp (These parameters can be adjusted with
-I/--minins <int> Default: 0.
-X/--maxins <int> Default: 250)

Using TopHat or any other splice junction aware aligner should indeed fix your problems.
fkrueger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO