No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• gene info from XLOC

Hello Everyone,
    I am new to genomics. I am using cuffdiff to get differentially expressed genes. and as output, I am getting the gene_id as XLOC_......, can anybody help me extracting useful gene information, gene name from XLOC ids ?

Any help is appreciated.
    Thank You

Originally posted by ojham View Post
    Hello Everyone,
    I am new to genomics. I am using cuffdiff to get differentially expressed genes. and as output, I am getting the gene_id as XLOC_......, can anybody help me extracting useful gene information, gene name from XLOC ids ?

Any help is appreciated.
    Thank You
    The best way is to supply a GTF file to Cufflinks/Cuffdiff before you run the program using the -G option. Is this an organism with a good annotation?

Comment

Hi, thank you for the response. I did use -G option while doing cufflink and yes the data is annotated data. Do I need to use -G option for cuffdiff also ?

Comment

Cuffdiff doesn't have a -G option since a GTF file is a requirement rather than an option. Does your GTF file have gene names in it? Does the Cufflinks output have the correct annotation?

Comment

yes my GTF file has gene names in it . how do I find if the annotation is correct or not , to which file I have to compare ?

Comment

Could you post a couple lines of your gtf file?

Comment

I have attached data for two gene Ids
              Attached Files

Comment

I meant the actual gtf file you used as input for cufflinks. You need to make sure it fits the format specified in the cufflinks manual.

Comment

is this one you want ?
                  Attached Files

Comment

Yes, that looks like a proper gtf file, but it does not have a gene name associated with any of the entries, so there will be no gene name associated with any of the cufflinks output. You need to either find a new gtf file for your organism that has gene names or update the file to contain gene names.