Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to identify chromosomal translocation or deletions?

I have a mouse cell line, which could have large-fragment deletion or translocation. I thought that the most affordable, efficient way to identify the translocation/deletion loci could be exome sequencing; at least I can identify which genes are lost in the mouse genome. I am not an expert on genetics or sequencing, so any comments or thoughts would be appreciated. Also, I welcome sequencing vendors to provide quotes about the possible project. Thanks.
    Last edited by spng; 07-22-2014, 08:34 AM.

If a large-scale event is heterozygous, I don't think exon-capture would be particularly useful; it does not give useful information about copy count because of the bias in bait efficiency. You MAY get some reads spanning a deletion, but then again, you may not; depends on whether the boundaries fall within the baited region. Also, some allegedly targeted exons will just not show up even though they are present.

The cheapest way to look for large-scale CNVs is with an array chip. It won't give exact boundaries, but with a 3Gbp genome, a 1 million SNP chip should give a resolution down to around 3000bp. Also, this won't tell you anything about a copy-neutral translocation.

Whole-genome sequencing is probably the most reliable method for finding novel junctions from translocations and deletions, though even then, discerning true translocations in large, repetitive genomes requires a substantial amount of skilled manual labor.

Comment

First of all, how stable is the karyotype?

Comment