SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BreakDancer problems totalnew Bioinformatics 5 08-04-2015 02:38 AM
cufflinks problems wall_y Bioinformatics 3 08-06-2013 09:31 PM
DESeq problems janec Bioinformatics 17 08-05-2013 05:44 AM
MAQ problems sasignor Bioinformatics 12 06-17-2011 11:21 AM
Problems with Nextera John.Sawyer Sample Prep / Library Generation 3 04-11-2011 07:33 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2011, 03:58 AM   #1
Palgrave
Member
 
Location: norway

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 73
Default Problems with rfam_scan.pl

I ran the program, but got the following error (in bold):

robin@robin-Aspire-3810T:~/Downloads$ perl rfam_scan.pl -o test4h --nobig /home/robin/Downloads/Rfam.cm /home/robin/Downloads/4hLong.fastaWARN: No BLAST database specified. Your search may be extremely slow.
Also, the model-specific global/local mode is not used, therefore
curated Rfam thresholds may not be meaningful.
Use of uninitialized value $rfamid in hash element at rfam_scan.pl line 276, <GEN1> line 988228.
Died at rfam_scan.pl line 281, <GEN1> line 988228.

Any idea?
Palgrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2014, 12:55 PM   #2
asperjelly
Member
 
Location: Wisconsin

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Default

I just had the same error. Did you ever get this figured out and running properly?
asperjelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 04:44 AM   #3
okapick
Junior Member
 
Location: Alicante

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Same error. What is it about the sequence format some lost N or what?
okapick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 09:31 AM   #4
asperjelly
Member
 
Location: Wisconsin

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Ok. So I finally got back to this. It seems it is failing due to the wrong Infernal version. You must have Infernal-1.0.2 for the script to run. I removed Infernal1.1.1 and then installed version 1.0.2 and the rfam_scan.pl script seems to run fine after that.
asperjelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 02:24 AM   #5
okapick
Junior Member
 
Location: Alicante

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Unhappy

The original script from last version of RFAM_v11 (rfam_scan.pl) is wrong. Due to it does not change some options than works in the last infernal software v1.0 but it is not update for infernal v1.1. For example, my rfam is blocked when the cmsearch are working. And /tmp you can see why cmsearch file is stop. The first time was because the option "--tabfile" instead of "--tblout" or "--ga" instead of "--cut_ga". Although the last option changed (--cut_ga) work neither. A new error appear "Error: Format tag is 'HMMER3/f': unrecognized or not supported."

In sum up, You have to explore the rfam_scan with infernal 1.0. I guess.

Last edited by okapick; 09-14-2014 at 02:29 AM.
okapick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO