SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convert VCF files to BCF files janaahan13 Bioinformatics 3 09-16-2015 06:47 AM
Bedtools and VCF files morangal Bioinformatics 4 07-11-2012 11:55 PM
samtools question - redefine mate information after applying filters caswater Bioinformatics 0 03-07-2012 08:37 PM
merging VCF files kjaja Bioinformatics 2 12-20-2011 07:50 AM
VCFtools Vcf.pm problem - broken VCF header on 1000genomes data naumenko.sa Bioinformatics 1 07-08-2011 05:17 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2013, 09:39 AM   #1
jmatÚs
Member
 
Location: Girona (Catalonia)

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
Default Vcf files: a little problem applying filters

Hi all! It's my first post in SeqAnswers forum. This site is awesome !

I'm struggling with a .vcf file that I'm trying to filter based on QUAL and DP fields. When I apply the filter and check if everything went well, I find that there are many variations that have not been filtered.

I've used this command for generating and filtering the file:

samtools mpileup -uf hg19.fa myfile.bam | bcftools view -bvcg - > var.raw.bcf

bcftools view var.raw.bcf | /usr/share/samtools/vcfutils.pl varFilter -D500 > myfile.vcf

cat myfile.vcf | vcf-annotate --filter Qual=30/MinDP=20 > myfile_filtered.vcf

Here is a fragment of my file after being filtered. I've narrowed it for brevity:

#CHROM POS ID REF ALT QUAL FILTER INFO
chr1 237993724 . C T 86 . DP=14;VDB=0.00(...)

chr1 237996076 . C G 158 . DP=166;VDB=0.0955(...)

chr1 237996661 . C G 3.54 . DP=31;VDB=0.0792(...)

chr1 237997087 . A G 225 . DP=220;VDB=0.0955(...)

chr1 237997254 . C T 108 . DP=255;VDB=0.0733(...)

chr3 8775457 . G A 44 PASS DP=50;VDB=0.0656(...)

As you can see the first entry shoudn't pass the filter because the DP field is under the filter value, and the third entry has a bad quality. The others although meet the filter specifications are not tagged with a ôPASSö label.

I'm pretty sure that there isn't any problem with the vcf file before being filtered and I've been unable to find a threat with an issue like this... any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
jmatÚs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:38 AM   #2
aeonsim
Member
 
Location: Belgium

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 45
Default

Not sure what's going on there but there are a number of other filtering tools that I'd recommend over vcf-annotate.

http://snpeff.sourceforge.net/SnpSift.html is very powerful and feature rich and runs pretty much everywhere being java based.
Or
https://github.com/ekg/vcflib a clean set of tools for manipulating VCF files, vcffilter would do what you want.
aeonsim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 12:36 AM   #3
jmatÚs
Member
 
Location: Girona (Catalonia)

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aeonsim View Post
Not sure what's going on there but there are a number of other filtering tools that I'd recommend over vcf-annotate.

http://snpeff.sourceforge.net/SnpSift.html is very powerful and feature rich and runs pretty much everywhere being java based.
Or
https://github.com/ekg/vcflib a clean set of tools for manipulating VCF files, vcffilter would do what you want.
Thank you aeonsim! Giving them a look immediately.
jmatÚs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
annotate_variation.pl, filters, vcf-tools

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO