Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SmallRNA analysis pipeline

I am little bit confused with the smallRNA analysis pipeline used for analyzing SOLiD results.

Here is what I have read everywhere.

1. Trim the adaptors and convert from csfasta to csfastq/fastq
    2. Align them to the genome
    3. Match them with miRBase to get the number of counts per miRNA sequence.

My question is Why do you need to align to the reference genome. Why can't we just find the unique sequence reads and then blast them to miRBase to get the counts.

The unaligned reads can then be blasted to the genome to discover any new miRNA.

I am really new to this and cannot seem to find a reasonable explanation for aligning first to the reference genome.

If someone can explain this to me or suggest any paper, that will be great!

Thank you

You actually align to the genome after aligning to mirBase. The steps are filter against a know set of tRNA and rRNA and then what isn't filtered align to mirBase. What doesn't match there is aligned to the entire genome for novel discovery. You will get these reads annotated and returned in a gff like formatted file. The reason you would want to not use blast is that these short read aligners are much better tuned to these types of data and even if you tuned blast to better handle them, it doesn't work in color space.
    Justin H. Johnson | Twitter: @BioInfo | LinkedIn: http://bit.ly/LIJHJ | EdgeBio

Comment

Thank you very much for the reply. Exactly thats how I thought the pipeline should be. But, most of the papers published first align to the genome and then to miRBase. That's what confused me.

Thanks again.

Comment

miRNA * non* forms and hairpin

I've been working with the SOLiD smRNA pipeline and have been questioning the genome alignment portion.