Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Illumina paired-end reads. More than 2 adapter sequences.

Hi,

I've been recently involved in a project where my task is to analyze double-stranded RNA sequencing data, and I'm relatively new to this field.

Data:
    - Illumina MiSeq 2x150 reads
    - 2 samples - about 3.5 million paired-end reads per sample
    - Known linker/primer sequences
    - RNA library is supposed to include only dsRNA molecules > 150 nt

I've started analyzing the data of sample 1 and I've found that a huge proportion of the reads have the following structure (R1 and R2 are mate reads):

R1-5' => [Adapter 1] [some sequence 1] [Adapter 2] [some sequence 2] [Adapter 2] xxxx 3'
    R2-3' => xxx [Adapter 1] [some sequence 1] [Adapter 2] [some sequence 2] [Adapter 2] 5'

(Note 1 : mate reads are complementary)
    (Note 2 : xxx portion ~10 nt long)

Is there any explanation for this?

I have a very basic idea about the RNA-Seq process, but not enough to explain why do I have more than 2 adapters per read.

Thanks in advance.

Sorry, missalignment of the read structure. Corrected below:

R1-5' => [Adapter 1] [some sequence 1] [Adapter 2] [some sequence 2] [Adapter 2] xxxx 3'
    R2-3' => xxx [Adapter 1] [some sequence 1] [Adapter 2] [some sequence 2] [Adapter 2] 5'

Comment

Do you have any idea how the libraries were generated? This certainly does not look like a standard Illumina TruSeq library. It could be that something is going wrong during one of the adapter ligation steps that is causing fragments to concatamerize. It's also strange that adapter 1 is being sequenced first in both reads.

Comment

This looks very strange to me. I don't think any of your reads should start with adapter sequence. They can end with adapter sequence if your insert is shorter than your read length. Is your "some sequence 2" a short sequence of indexing nucleotides?