No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DESeq-strange disoersion plot and using shorth

Hi,
    I am a newbie to bioinformatics and am trying to analyse RNASeq data with DeSeq.The dispersion plot for my data looks different from the the typical plots.I have attached two sample plots-the issue is that there is a sharp upper boundary and don't know how to interpret this!

I have tried the various options for sharingmode and fitytpe for my data and sometimes, default works but with a different sample list, I have to try a local fit or different sharing mode). I have four different conditions and there are 6-16 biological replicates for each, so sample size is not a problem.

Also, when I try to change estimate size factor command using the following, it does not work:
    cds = estimateSizeFactors(cds,locfunc=shorth)

Am I doing anything wrong here?
    Thanks for your help
    Attached Files
    Last edited by tellsparck; 01-10-2013, 12:12 PM. Reason: Spelling mistake in title

I have run into the same problem with you,expect the answers……

Comment

Hi - you are getting huge dispersions, of the order of 10, indicating that the counts between your different "replicate" samples are very, very different. Have you tried looking at pairwise scatterplots of the data? I.e. something like (replace pasilla with your own data):

library("pasilla")
      data("pasillaGenes")
      trsf = function(x, c=1) log2(x+c)
      pairs(trsf(counts(pasillaGenes)), pch=".")

Best wishes
      Wolfgang
      Wolfgang Huber
      EMBL

Comment