Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to find public sequencing data with signal intensity for each base?

Hello. I was uncertain about whether to put this in 'General' or 'Bioinformatics' but erred on the side of the latter because it seems to get more traffic.

I am rather new to analyzing sequencing data, and am looking for a publicly available sequencing data (can be whole genome, exome, or targeted gene sequencing data) that contains information about signal intensity for each base. I do not know however what format such data would be in. I have already tried getting data from 1000genomes, specifically .bam files, and viewed them using IGV. However, this does not contain the information I'm looking for (or if it does, I couldn't find it).

After reading something I thought maybe I need data in .bcl format? In any case, how might I find (and view) public data with signal intensity at the base level? Thanks.

See #2 and 3 posts in this thread: http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=20248. What you need is the .cif files, which are not saved by majority of people who run sequencers for last 2-3 years. I am not sure why you need the intensity files but your best bet would be to ask someone who owns a MiSeq to see if they would be willing to save them for a run.

I found this where a cif file simulator has been discussed (see section 6.1): http://www.wpi.edu/Pubs/E-project/Av...Correction.pdf If you can use simulated data then you may want to contact these authors.

Comment

What use is the signal intensity data to you, Mark?

--
      Phillip

Comment