SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > Sample Prep / Library Generation



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double peaks of ChIP-Seq library hejin1 Illumina/Solexa 6 11-09-2016 12:08 PM
Twin peaks, double peaks, double humps of RNA Seq, itís all very frustrating...HELP! AndyG Sample Prep / Library Generation 18 10-24-2015 03:43 PM
double 18S peak on Bioanalyzer crimor Sample Prep / Library Generation 3 02-13-2015 11:54 AM
Extra peaks in a bioanalyzer trace for library made from ePCR amplicon dtm2451 Sample Prep / Library Generation 15 06-09-2014 06:47 AM
How to detect Heterozygous (double) peaks from Sanger shuang Bioinformatics 10 01-25-2013 12:22 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-13-2019, 05:48 AM   #1
vangFO
Junior Member
 
Location: Faroe Islands

Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Default Double peaks on Bioanalyzer? 16s V3-V4 amplicon

Hi Everyone,

I am looking for a theroretical and practicalexplanation here because Iīm new to NGS. We have been using the standard Illumina 16s metagenomics protocol that amplifes a 540 bp fragment of the V3-V4 hypervariable region. Here are my questions.

1. Sometimes we have sharp bands larger than our expected amplicon. Is this primers annealing to repeat areas of the DNA? So it isnīt an exact match but enough to bind at high cycle number? or is this imcomplete ampification that is hanging onto something else?

2. I see alot of other people posting about double peaks...sometimes we see them very close together at the expected amplicon size. Is this a structural artifact? like supercoiling of the amplicon?

3. For some samples the Qubit reading was 3-4x higher than the bioanalyzer.
even for samples with clean bands. What could be the reason for this?

I have attached a PDF with examples of our bioanalyzer readout.

Thank you so much for your help!
Attached Files
File Type: pdf double peaks in bioanalyzer.pdf (408.3 KB, 9 views)
vangFO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 08:06 AM   #2
itstrieu
Junior Member
 
Location: Atlanta

Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 8
Default

How many cycles did you use for the PCR reaction? It might be that your primers are exhaust and your PCR products are annealing to each other. See this link: https://dnatech.genomecenter.ucdavis...e-pcr-bubbles/

For the first PCR reaction, we use 21 cycles and for the second PCR reaction we use 8. Attached are typical traces we get for the amplicon and final library. As for the concentration that the bioanalyzer gives, I would trust the concentration that the Qubit is giving since it will be more accurate.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (36.3 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (23.5 KB, 3 views)
itstrieu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO