No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Protist diversity—454 or Illumina?

Hi,I'm a newbie in NGS.
    Our groups are going to study the diversity of protist community,the target region—18s rRNA V9 region,length is about 150bp.I think Illumina is enough,but in many articles they all use 454.So I want to know if some one knows why they all use 454,which sequencing technology should I choice?Thank you.

The 454 error rate is much less than illumina - I'm assuming you'll want to assess the number of species etc.? There have been a few papers I think saying that illumina will over-estimate the number of species 10-100 fold because of the error rate of the short reads. We only ever use 454 for our amplicon studies.

Comment

Illumina vs. 454

I would think Illumina might be a good option. You won't need the primary advantage of 454 which is the 400-500 bp read length. Cost per base will favor Illumina in a major way, and potentially you could get higher accuracy by sequencing the entire amplicon in both directions.

The possible drawback is that Illumina will require more method development -not as many people have used it for diversity studies (though I think that is changing).

Comment

Illumina error is LOWER than 454 as far as I remember. The problem is the PCR error that you will see pop up more in Illumina typically only because you are sequencing much deeper than 454.

I also think by now Illumina has been well-developed for 16s/18s studies. Consider doing overlapping paired reads to get the length you need.

Comment

Hi lingnanwu,