SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > Sample Prep / Library Generation



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heuristic search for contaminant motifs k-gun12 Bioinformatics 0 03-14-2013 09:50 AM
rRNA contaminant screening aligning small RNA honey Bioinformatics 0 05-31-2012 07:32 PM
PubMed: Fragmentation of contaminant and endogenous DNA in ancient samples determined Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 09-11-2011 08:40 AM
18bp DNA contaminant in ChIP input sample? sinapius Sample Prep / Library Generation 0 02-09-2011 11:39 AM
BWA and screening illumina reads for contaminant jmartin Bioinformatics 3 04-22-2010 03:55 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2014, 10:37 PM   #1
vanillasky
Member
 
Location: Europe

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 42
Default Contaminant in dscDNA sample?

A recent illumina run analysis showed that the majority of our sequences were contaminated with 16S rRNA. Prior to dscDNA we used a rRNA depletion method using the RiboZero Bacteria Magnetic kit. We ran our samples on a Pico Chip and saw our sample had lost the peaks from 16S and 23S so the depletion step works. If contamination occurred it must have been either during dscDNA construction or prior to the illumina run. Could you help me determine which step might have introduced contaminants? In my attachment you will see the dscDNA run on a high sensitivity chip. Does this look fine? Please ignore the empty lanes.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf chip result.pdf (65.4 KB, 18 views)
vanillasky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 05:03 PM   #2
buthercup_ch
Member
 
Location: Japan

Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 40
Default

Hi vanillasky,
In my experience, you should see a one and only smooth band in your dscDNA preparation when running a DNA HS chip… I can't see that in the file you attached. So I do not recommend you to proceed with sequencing for this sample.
I also think that after RIboZero treatment, running a NanoChip is enough and better than the Pico one.
buthercup_ch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 10:17 PM   #3
vanillasky
Member
 
Location: Europe

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 42
Default

Thank you for the reply. Unfortunately, I did end up sequencing and found that there were contaminants in there. I was never able to get this particular sample to work with the library preparation kit I used. I have talked to Agilent tech support in the past and they recommended the pico chip for mRNA analysis (which was my target). They told me the nanochip is good for quantitation vs the picochip. Also, the concentrations of my sample are so low that working with the picochip is better. Anyway, thank you for your post, I will keep this in mind if I ever work on this again.
vanillasky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO