SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > RNA Sequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using TopHat output files with UCSC genome browser statsteam Bioinformatics 7 05-16-2011 06:09 PM
TopHat GFF3 for UCSC Gene HG19 Bio.X2Y Bioinformatics 5 06-07-2010 12:43 PM
converting tophat .wig to bigwig for upload into ucsc chrisbala Bioinformatics 4 04-09-2010 08:10 AM
TopHat - wig file not compatible with UCSC? dukevn Bioinformatics 3 11-30-2009 06:53 AM
Using tophat results via UCSC genome browser statsteam RNA Sequencing 2 11-20-2009 11:37 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2009, 07:44 AM   #1
geriatrics1200
Junior Member
 
Location: boston, ma

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default TopHat: output is not recognized by UCSC

Hi, we ran TopHat without a GFF3 file and the output does not appear to be recognizable wiggle and bed formats. Here is what we got (first lines) of the wiggle file:
track type=bedGraph name="TopHat - read coverage"
gi|149258597|ref|NT_039457.7|Mm8_39497_37 0 46627 0
gi|149258597|ref|NT_039457.7|Mm8_39497_37 46627 46667 1
gi|149258597|ref|NT_039457.7|Mm8_39497_37 46667 48587 0
gi|149258597|ref|NT_039457.7|Mm8_39497_37 48587 48627 1

And here is what we got from the bed file:
track name=junctions description="TopHat junctions"
gi|149258597|ref|NT_039457.7|Mm8_39497_37 1132498 1133665 JUNC00000001
13 + 1132498 1133665 255,0,0 2 31,21 0,1146
gi|149258597|ref|NT_039457.7|Mm8_39497_37 1264693 1270688 JUNC00000002
39 + 1264693 1270688 255,0,0 2 32,32 0,5963

The program ran without errors. We think that there is a step missing that would associate the gi/NTs to chromosome coordinates. We are thus wondering what will be the way to work through this.. Is it because of the missing GFF3 file? (we could not find one for mouse, and if this is a problem, we would appreciate some pointers on how to make one) Any other suggestions?

Thanks very much in advance!

Last edited by geriatrics1200; 06-03-2009 at 08:43 AM.
geriatrics1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 08:27 AM   #2
statsteam
Member
 
Location: Californica

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
Default

I had the same problem before. What you need to do is to make your own bowtie index file using 'bowtie-build' command on fa files you downloaded from UCSC site.

Hope it helps,
Statsteam
statsteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 10:13 AM   #3
bekkari
Member
 
Location: New Jersey

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Yep, the same I heard from author

UCSC recognizes nothing but chr#, so have to you build your own indexes on chromosome sequences, which can downloaded from UCSC.
bekkari is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO