SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1000 genomes ancestral alleles? jlc_1020 Bioinformatics 13 10-13-2017 12:23 AM
PubMed: Initial genome sequencing and analysis of multiple myeloma. Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 03-25-2011 10:10 AM
Genome browser that work well with multiple contig files Hobbe Bioinformatics 2 10-05-2010 05:41 AM
Discussion : "The diploid genome sequence of an Asian individual" edge Literature Watch 8 09-09-2009 06:31 PM
PubMed: The diploid genome sequence of an Asian individual. Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 11-07-2008 09:30 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2012, 10:05 AM   #1
caswater
Member
 
Location: Canada

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 47
Default multiple alleles for a diploid genome?

When analyzing a diploid genome, GATK genotyper complains about multiple alleles found in a region, the message is shown below,...

"WARN 13:57:25,771 ExactAFCalculationModel - this tool is currently set to genotype at most 3 alternate alleles in a given context, but the context at chr1:19203155 has 4 alternate alleles so only the top alleles will be used; see the --max_alternate_alleles argument"

As it is an diploid genome, how come 4 different alleles could be found? a bit confused here.

Thanks a lot for your kind advice on this
caswater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 11:51 AM   #2
swbarnes2
Senior Member
 
Location: San Diego

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 912
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caswater View Post
When analyzing a diploid genome, GATK genotyper complains about multiple alleles found in a region, the message is shown below,...

"WARN 13:57:25,771 ExactAFCalculationModel - this tool is currently set to genotype at most 3 alternate alleles in a given context, but the context at chr1:19203155 has 4 alternate alleles so only the top alleles will be used; see the --max_alternate_alleles argument"

As it is an diploid genome, how come 4 different alleles could be found? a bit confused here.

Thanks a lot for your kind advice on this
Your samples might not be pure. Or you might have alignment errors. Or your raw data ahs errors (like homopolymer mistakes).

Probably, it's an area where the alignment is poor.
swbarnes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 01:58 PM   #3
caswater
Member
 
Location: Canada

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 47
Default

Thanks a lot for your advice. I just checked the files, and those regions were indels, and they seemed to be short repetitive sequence stretches (just around ~5bp something). I guess it is likely alignment problems. Will check SNPs and see if there is anything wrong with it.

by the way, if we see multiple alleles along a chromosome, will it indicate something like polysomy for the individual? how can we detect polysomic region then?

Thanks again for your advice

Best
caswater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 10:47 PM   #4
ymc
Senior Member
 
Location: Hong Kong

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 498
Default

It can be polysomy. Or a particular region is duplicated couple times relative to the reference genome
ymc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO