SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Introductions

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did I make directional or non-directional BS-seq libraries? shawpa Sample Prep / Library Generation 8 11-22-2017 03:44 AM
Illumina Directional RNA-Seq flobpf Illumina/Solexa 58 11-19-2015 03:18 PM
Analysis of Directional mRNA-seq data / Illumina jmtepp RNA Sequencing 7 02-26-2014 11:13 PM
Directional RNA-seq: Illumina Tru-seq versus dUTP based method jazz Sample Prep / Library Generation 35 06-06-2013 10:50 AM
Illumina directional RNA-seq protocol Herve Illumina/Solexa 10 06-13-2010 07:18 AM

Old 08-20-2012, 02:03 PM   #1
Pilar Z

Default Illumina directional libraries

Hi,
I am working with an Illumina Genome Analyser GaIIx. I am new at this, and I am studying to produce directional libraries for RNA-Seq. But I have some doubts about what I read in the following article referring to Illumina RNA ligation protocol:
Illumina decaps the RNA with TAP, fragments the RNA with Sodium citrate, then 3' dephosphorylates (with Antartic phosphatase) and then phosphorylates at its 5' end (with T4 polynucleotide kinase) . It don't understand why it does that, because as far as I understand, after decapping, RNA is monophosphorylated on its 5' end so it would be ready for adapter ligation...
Thank you very much for your help,
Pilar
Pilar Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 02:33 PM   #2
kcchan

After fragmentation, the new 5' end of each fragment will need to be phosphorylated with PNK in preparation for adapter ligation. Take a look at this thread which contains a protocol regarding how the process it done.
kcchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 03:32 PM   #3
Pilar Z

Hi kcchan,
Thank you for your answer.