SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mapping rate with PolyA and Ribo-zero selection on NextSeq 500 and HiSeq 4000 Jane M RNA Sequencing 15 05-09-2016 06:15 AM
HiSeq 3000/4000 2x150 data scrosby Illumina/Solexa 10 06-04-2015 10:29 AM
Lotsa new toys from Illumina: HiSeq X Five, 3000, 4000, NextSeq 550 GW_OK Illumina/Solexa 53 05-21-2015 12:30 AM
Comparison between SOLiD, Illumina MiSeq and Illumina HiSeq NGS_New_User SOLiD 0 12-12-2012 12:37 PM
bowtie command line for Illumina Hiseq 2000 with Illumina 1.5+ quality encoding files rworthi Illumina/Solexa 4 09-28-2011 12:25 PM

Old 07-12-2016, 01:01 AM   #1
StephanK

Default SmartSeq2 on Illumina HiSeq 4000

Hi!

I am new to the field and I try to establish single cell transcriptome sequencing with the Fluidigm C1 machine. We already decided that we use the SmartSeq2 protocol from Clontech (SmartSeq v4). Now our Institute got rid of several Illumina HiSeq 2000 machines that are recommended to use with the Nextera XT librabry prep that is recommended from Clontech. We do have several HiSeq 4000 machines and after talking with the facility they mentioned I should fractionate the cDNA on a Kovaris (with ultrasound) and then use the NEBNext ChIP Seq Mastermix for Illumina sequencing. Do you think this is the best protocol or is there another available? Of course I checked online but that did not yield much... I checked several papers for single cell sequencing and practically all of them use the Illumina 2000 sequencer. Is there a specific non-obvious reason for that? Is it only because of the Nextera XT Kit?

Unrelated to the SmartSeq2 protocol, can one use UMIs with the Kovaris ultrasound shredding of the cDNA? Will there not be many UMIs lost since they are always at the end of the molecule, so they are on smaller cDNA fragments. Are smaller fragments then more likely to be lost during purification processes?