SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SOAPddenovo v1.05 error-Cannot open output_prefix.kmerFreq. Lspoor Bioinformatics 1 06-17-2015 06:41 AM
cuffdiff Error: cannot open reference GTF file L for reading crh Bioinformatics 4 04-14-2014 02:52 PM
broken pipe during tophat analysis feng Bioinformatics 2 11-28-2011 12:33 PM
MapSplice error: open reads file thek71 RNA Sequencing 5 05-25-2011 06:51 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2012, 03:00 AM   #1
JonB
Member
 
Location: Norway

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 83
Default TopHat error: could not open writer pipe gzip

Hi,

I am running TopHat on my MacBook Air. Everything seemed to be running fine, but after maybe 30min of "Mapping left_kept_reads to genome" it stopped with this error message:

Error: could not open writer pipe gzip -cf - < ./tophat_out/tmp/left_kept_reads_seg123.fq.z

Anyone know what this means?

Thanks!

Jon
JonB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 04:53 AM   #2
EGrassi
Member
 
Location: Turin, Italy

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 66
Default

Is your disk full or almost there? (just guessing, I've never seen that error myself)
EGrassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:34 AM   #3
JonB
Member
 
Location: Norway

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 83
Default

I have about 23 GB of disk space left. I tried to monitor the disk space as the analysis was running and couldn't see if I ran out of space.
JonB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 02:24 AM   #4
SDiehl
Junior Member
 
Location: Freiburg, Germany

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Default

I have the same issue:
Quote:
[2013-04-25 18:00:32] Beginning TopHat run (v2.0.7)
-----------------------------------------------
[2013-04-25 18:00:32] Checking for Bowtie
Bowtie version: 2.0.5.0
[2013-04-25 18:00:32] Checking for Samtools
Samtools version: 0.1.18.0
[2013-04-25 18:00:32] Checking for Bowtie index files
[2013-04-25 18:00:32] Checking for reference FASTA file
[2013-04-25 18:00:32] Generating SAM header for ../../reference/petMar2
format: fasta
[2013-04-25 18:00:34] Preparing reads
left reads: min. length=201, max. length=16867, 266767 kept reads (0 discarded)
[2013-04-25 18:01:04] Mapping left_kept_reads to genome petMar2 with Bowtie2
Error: could not open writer pipe gzip -cf - < Sample1_petMar2/tmp/left_kept_reads_seg508.fq.z
I have enough disk space and everything. I tried with several versions of tophat2 and bowtie2 and several samples and always the same error. The file tmp/left_kept_reads_seg508.fq.z is empty, but the rest of the temp files are ok. The only thing that was the same all the time was the reference, which I build myself from the UCSC fasta from petMar2. Everything worked fine previously with a different version of the reference. I also didn't see any other error in the logs. So the reference should be fine since bowtie2 works.
SDiehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 10:42 AM   #5
JonB
Member
 
Location: Norway

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 83
Default

I don't remember exactly, but I think this problem was because I ran out of memory. I haven't been running tophat locally since, but on a cluster with ~8 GB of memory I never have this problem.
JonB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 04:47 AM   #6
SDiehl
Junior Member
 
Location: Freiburg, Germany

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the reply JonB. I tried running tophat2 on two different powerful servers which both have much more than 8GB memory.
SDiehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 07:28 AM   #7
Lizex
Member
 
Location: Cape Town South Africa

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 22
Default Tophat gzip program not found

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDiehl View Post
Thanks for the reply JonB. I tried running tophat2 on two different powerful servers which both have much more than 8GB memory.
Hi SDiehl
Did you get a solution for your problem you had regarding Tophat not opening gzip. I think I have a similar problem. I have compiled and installed Tophat2. When running tophat on the test_data, I got this error:
test_data $ tophat2 -r 20 test_ref reads_1.fq reads_2.fq
Error: cannot find compression program gzip

It says it cannot find the compression program gzip. Any idea or suggestion what I should do?

Thanks in advance

Lizex
Lizex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 07:37 AM   #8
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,813
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lizex View Post

It says it cannot find the compression program gzip. Any idea or suggestion what I should do?

Thanks in advance

Lizex
Depending on the unix distro you are using there will be different ways of getting "gzip" installed. At a minimum you can find the official download here: http://ftp.gnu.org/gnu/gzip/

It may be simple to look up (and install) gzip using your software repository (e.g. software center in Ubuntu).
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 07:43 AM   #9
SDiehl
Junior Member
 
Location: Freiburg, Germany

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lizex View Post
Hi SDiehl
Did you get a solution for your problem you had regarding Tophat not opening gzip. I think I have a similar problem. I have compiled and installed Tophat2. When running tophat on the test_data, I got this error:
test_data $ tophat2 -r 20 test_ref reads_1.fq reads_2.fq
Error: cannot find compression program gzip

It says it cannot find the compression program gzip. Any idea or suggestion what I should do?

Thanks in advance

Lizex
In my case gzip was not the problem. For some strange reason it turned out the be the reference. After I redid the reference everything worked fine again.

As GenoMax already said, most likely you need to install gzip or add it to your path, such that tophat can find it.
SDiehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 09:23 AM   #10
Lizex
Member
 
Location: Cape Town South Africa

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 22
Default Tophat gzip program not found

Thanks guys.

I downloaded the gzip and put it in my PATH. It seems to have done the trick.

Cheers

Lizex
Lizex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 04:51 AM   #11
edm1
Member
 
Location: UK

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Default

In case this is useful to anyone in the future; My problem was that I was running on a Beowolf cluster and the network drive I had my reads on was only available from the login nodes, not the worker node.

Last edited by edm1; 06-18-2014 at 03:42 AM.
edm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 08:19 AM   #12
seqprone
Junior Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDiehl View Post
In my case gzip was not the problem. For some strange reason it turned out the be the reference. After I redid the reference everything worked fine again.

As GenoMax already said, most likely you need to install gzip or add it to your path, such that tophat can find it.
Could you please explain how you 'redid the reference'? Thanks!
seqprone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error, mapping, tophat

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO