SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > Sample Prep / Library Generation



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bead Recycling thefabnab Sample Prep / Library Generation 3 09-02-2016 06:43 AM
isses about gaps in the probes from NimbleDesign seraphin 454 Pyrosequencing 3 05-01-2013 02:27 AM
Nimblegen Probes aleferna Bioinformatics 1 08-10-2010 12:25 PM
IPAR recycling The_Roads Bioinformatics 2 12-09-2009 11:39 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2016, 09:33 AM   #1
naji
Junior Member
 
Location: San Francisco Bay Area

Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Question Reusing/Recycling Probes?

Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone has had any luck with successfully, or trying to, recycle/reuse DNA probes? Any advice, ideas, or insights would help.

Thanks!
naji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 09:36 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,783
Default

Why would you want to do that? This (to a non-bench scientist) sounds like a bad idea.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 09:59 AM   #3
naji
Junior Member
 
Location: San Francisco Bay Area

Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Default

I figure to save money on probes, but also, if this is something that can be done (relatively) "easily" and efficiently, it could allow for using recycled probes as a control variable for assay development?
naji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 01:47 PM   #4
nucacidhunter
Jafar Jabbari
 
Location: Melbourne

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,172
Default

Do you mean biotinylated sequence capture probes?
nucacidhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 03:11 PM   #5
HESmith
Senior Member
 
Location: Bethesda MD

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenoMax View Post
Why would you want to do that? This (to a non-bench scientist) sounds like a bad idea.
This (to a bench scientist) also sounds like a bad idea. In theory, you can strip the sequence capture probes. In practice, you'll get contaminating sequences from previous captures.
HESmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2016, 07:49 PM   #6
BioDynami
Registered Vendor
 
Location: Alabama

Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 14
Default

Compared to the money you saved, you will get more trouble in terms of library contamination and possible bias of probe contents.
BioDynami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 08:07 AM   #7
Xploration
Junior Member
 
Location: Michigan

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Default

What kind of probes are you asking about? I re-use DIG-labeled PCR product probes for Southern blots.
Xploration is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO