No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how paired end alignment works?

Hello, all

I am completely new in bioinformatics, I start to read papers about alignment, but I just couldn't make an image how paired-end alignment works. I'v been searching around by google, it seems I couldn't get a tutorial or paper to clearly instruct me that.

What I need is a tutorial with some simple examples of PE alignment. Can anyone provide me a link here? Thanks a lot.

Originally posted by totalnew View Post
    Hello, all

I am completely new in bioinformatics, I start to read papers about alignment, but I just couldn't make an image how paired-end alignment works. I'v been searching around by google, it seems I couldn't get a tutorial or paper to clearly instruct me that.

What I need is a tutorial with some simple examples of PE alignment. Can anyone provide me a link here? Thanks a lot.
    Check out papers for aligners like MAQ or SOAP. Most aligners align each end independently, or at most consider using one end and the expected insert size to infer the location of the other (to be more sensitive).

Comment

Thanks, nilshomer! I read Heng's paper about Maq, and paper for SOAP, PE part is kind of short, they wouldn't make me clearly understand how it works. Any other straightforward documentations?

thanks
      Last edited by totalnew; 04-27-2009, 09:27 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by totalnew View Post
        Thanks, nilshomer! I read Heng's paper about Maq, and paper for SOAP, PE part is kind of short, they wouldn't make me clearly understand how it works. Any other straightforward documentations?

thanks
        There isn't too much to say about paired end alignment, just align them independently. PM if you want a draft of my own alignment paper.

Comment

Actually there are a lot to say about paired-end mapping. This is where the accuracy of different aligners differs. The algorithms can be classified into four groups.