SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bowtie2-align dided with the signal 11 (SEGV) (core dumped) with bowtie2 harijay Bioinformatics 0 07-28-2015 01:49 AM
Expected bowtie2 to be in same directory with bowtie2-align nimrod337 Bioinformatics 4 04-11-2015 01:54 PM
Newbie bwa question (HiSeq data)Hi, Sorry for the newbie question! I am trying to c bsmith030465 Bioinformatics 6 02-26-2015 09:08 AM
Amazon Web Services: Tophat cannot find Bowtie2 even though Bowtie2 is in path Dr_Funkenstein RNA Sequencing 4 03-06-2014 04:55 AM
Please help with newbie Bowtie2 question (Mac)! Bubblepig Bioinformatics 2 10-21-2013 07:55 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2017, 01:29 PM   #1
jmgreenb420
Junior Member
 
Location: Michigan

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Default Newbie help with Bowtie2 and (GitBash / MetaPhlAn)

Hello, I was not sure where else to go for help.

I have sequence data I need to process and was hoping to go through the MetaPhlAn tutorial (which I am already having trouble with but that is a separate issue). That requires Bowtie2, and Unix system is pretty new to me, so Bowtie2's website explanation of how to integrate/install it is incredibly vague/unclear to me as to what actually needs to be done, and they do a terrible job of explaining it, I think they make a lot of assumptions that their users are all familiar with it.

Please help, can provide more information as needed, but basically I have no idea what to do after downloading/extracting.

-Jonathan
jmgreenb420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 03:51 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,411
Default

What OS are you using? You may be able to use a pre-compiled binary (ready to use bowtie2) depending on your answer.

In any case taking a look at this UNIX tutorial for biologists would be a great place to start.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 02:34 PM   #3
jmgreenb420
Junior Member
 
Location: Michigan

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Default

I'm running Windows 10, I will check out that tutorial, thank you for your response!
jmgreenb420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO