No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strong CpG methylation bias between R1 and R2

Hello,
    I'm new in bioinformatics, and for first time training I've got the set of WGBS 100bp PE reads from few human cancer tissues.
    I've filtered reads with prinseq, sorted, and aligned them with bismark in PE mode to hg38 (prepared with bismark) from ucsc.
    Mapping efficiency is ~20% with ~80% C's methylated in CpG context.
    OK, low mappability of reads from BS treated DNA has been mentioned many times.
    Then I tried to map reads 1 and 2 separately in SE mode.
    Read 1: mapping efficiency ~60% with ~80% C's methylated in CpG context.
    Read 2: mapping efficiency ~50% with ~40% C's methylated in CpG context.
    additional trimming by 10-20 nt from any end of read2 slightly increase mappability, but doesn't affect methylation rate.
    This result seems extremely odd to me.
    If DNA was treated with BS, how can it happen that only read2 in pair shows 2X less methylation in CpG context?
    Does anybody have a fresh look?
    Thank you in advance.

Would you have following information:
    1- Kit or method used for library prep
    2- Read length
    3- Library peak size
    4- FastQC output for reads

Comment

This is what I could extract from core lab personnel:

Genomic DNA was extracted from tissue, BS treated, sonicated, end repaired, dA-tailed. Then standard illumina adaptors were used for PE sequencing.

2- Read length

100bases (adaptors already trimmed)

3- Library peak size

~200nt

4- FastQC output for reads

sorry, I can't attach picture right now, but fastQC report is good for all reads median quality at 5' end is 30, at 3' end is ~15. And I preformed quality trimming with threshold over 15.

Comment

Generally there are three WGBS library prep methods: