X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bowtie2 basic problem!

Hi

I'm new in the bioinformatic field and I have a basic problem

I have a read,in fastq format, ready to align on my reference genome (human genome), but I'm not able to do that!

I've understand that I must to indexing my genome and create a basename before convert my fastq in a sam file.

I need your help, I've read the tutorial but I haven't the sufficient bioinformatic knoledge to do that by myself.

Thanks

Look at the 'Getting started' section of the Bowtie webpage and work through their example.

You can also download pre-built versions of the genome index from the links on the Bowtie webpage, including links to Illumina's iGenomes.

Comment

Solved, thanks!

Comment

Hi,
        i'm trying to index GRCh37 with Bowtie2. RAM is 1.5Gb and indexing has been ongoing for more than 48 hours.
        Is it normal?

Comment

No, Bowtie2's indexing is really slow, but not THAT slow. When you say "RAM is 1.5Gb" do you mean the amount of RAM used by the process, or total memory on the computer? Also, knowing the exact operating system and CPU type would be very helpful.

Also look at the CPU utilization for that process (e.g. with "top").

Comment

The total memory of computer is 4Gb while 1.5Gb is the memory allocated for ubuntu that I use as virtual machine. What do you intend for CPU type. Processor is i3, 1.8Ghz.
            Is "top" a command that I have to digit?
            Now indexing is running, so I can't work on shell!!

Comment

I don't think 1.5Gb is enough for Bowtie2 to index or map to Human. If you have a 64-bit OS, you should kill the process, give Ubuntu all the memory, and restart it.

Comment

1.5GB RAM is not enough for this process (or the VM). Plus you are probably running 32-bit Ubuntu, which will become a problem with human genome size datasets. You should find an alternate machine with better hardware to do this.

Comment