No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• retrieve gene name

Hi everybody,
    I'm fabio and I wished to ask you if anybody knows how to retrieve from the genomic locations the gene name. Up to now I'm using the USCS genome browser, but It's quite complex to retrieve the gene name one by one! Thanks a lot,
    Fabio

Hey Fabio,

Keep in mind I'm not a programmer, so I'm sure someone else here has a better solution! But it's pretty easy to retrieve gene names (or anything really) using the Table Browser at UCSC combiend with some simple perl. I've used the following subroutine to get info about any gene (from the "knownGene" table) given the chromosome, start and end position. It will undoubtedly need updating as it's a few years old, and could certainly be coded better (it uses LWP::Simple)

Code:
    sub knownGene{
        my %knowngene;
        #my $location = "chr" . $7 . ":" . $9 . "-" . $10;
        my ($chr,$start,$end) = @_;
        my $location = "chr" . $chr . ":" . $start . "-" . $end;

my $p = "http://genome.cse.ucsc.edu/cgi-bin/hgText?";
        my $q = "db=hg16&table=hg16.knownGene&phase=Get+all+fields&position=$location&submit=submit&";

my $c = get ("$p"."$q");

my @b = split ('\n',$c);

foreach my $line (@b) {
             if ( $line =~ /^\#/){
             next;
         }
         if ($line =~ /^(\w+)\s+(\w+)\s+([-+])\s+(\w+)\s+(\w+)\s+(\w+)\s+(\w+)\s+(\w+)\s+([\w\,]+)\s+([\w\,]+)/){
             $knowngene{'name'} = $1;
             $knowngene{'chr'} = $2;
             $knowngene{'strand'} = $3;
             $knowngene{'txStart'} = $4;
             $knowngene{'txEnd'} = $5;
             $knowngene{'cdsStart'} = $6;
             $knowngene{'cdsEnd'} = $7;
             $knowngene{'exonCount'} = $8;
             $knowngene{'exonStarts'} = $9;
             $knowngene{'exonEnds'} = $10;         
         }

if ($knowngene{'name'}) { 
             return \%knowngene;
         }else{
             return undef;
         }
         }