No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strange per base sequence content from FastQC report

Hi all ,

I am new to bioinformatics. I have encountered some problems with the data analysis(RNA-seq for human, Pair-end 101cycle). The per base sequence content and Kmer content look pretty strange from what i expected.
    Here are my questions (please use the attached file for reference)

1.There is a sudden rise of %A around 50bp. Would it be adapter contamination? but the adapter content keeps low throughout the whole run.

2. What is the possible cause of the A/T imbalance?

3. What is the possible cause of peaks around 40-49bp from the Kmer content?

4. why the base quality drops after 50bp?

Can anyone give me some clue on these questions, it's been puzzling me for a week.

Thank you
    Attached Files

For question 1, the increase in %A is not too bad. I think it can be explained that for some reads you start running in the polyA tail, which you might want to trim off.

Comment

Would you know what kit was used for library prep. Some kits adapter are different from the ones that FastQC can detect.

Comment

Hi nucacidhunter and wdecoster,

TruSeq RNA Library Prep Kit v2 was used, the link below shows the overpresented adapters sequence

Discover the magic of the internet at Imgur, a community powered entertainment destination. Lift your spirits with funny jokes, trending memes, entertaining gifs, inspiring stories, viral videos, and so much more from users.

This is the result from bioanalyzer, the peak lies around 250-300bp. Subtracting the length of the adapter (60bp), the insert should be around 120-130bp. In my opinion, it is less likely for a adatper sequence to be read at 50 cycle .

Discover the magic of the internet at Imgur, a community powered entertainment destination. Lift your spirits with funny jokes, trending memes, entertaining gifs, inspiring stories, viral videos, and so much more from users.

Thank you