SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > 454 Pyrosequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perfect 454 FLX for sale (with FREE upgrade to long reads FLX+ available) 454FLXforsale Service Providers 0 01-18-2012 04:38 AM
Perfect 454 FLX for sale (with FREE upgrade to long reads FLX+ available ) 454FLXforsale 454 Pyrosequencing 0 01-18-2012 04:36 AM
PubMed: Minor variant detection in amplicons using 454 massive parallel pyrosequencin Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 09-13-2011 02:00 AM
454 Amplicons-no reference dina Bioinformatics 4 07-06-2010 09:03 PM
help with FLX 454 genbio General 2 01-05-2010 09:54 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2012, 05:29 AM   #1
rglover
rg
 
Location: uk

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 51
Default 454 FLX+ with amplicons - anyone tried it?

I guess the title says it all - has anyone tried sequencing amplicons on an FLX+ yet? We're looking at trying it in the next month or two and I was wondering whether anyone else had tried it already and had any success.
rglover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 10:42 PM   #2
mohdsos
Member
 
Location: Saudi Arabia

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 16
Default

well, I am waiting for the upgrade, I am so doing it. but the is a bump, ROCHE won't support that very run, as amplicons is not listed as FLX+ application, so in case that something went wrong, there will be no replacement or any sort of support. I guess you can do it anyway. tell me what your results will look like.


Thanks
Mo
mohdsos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 10:20 PM   #3
Abha
Junior Member
 
Location: Australia

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default

We have done amplicons on the FLX plus with mixed results. Sequencing works very well on the amplicons containing only one type of amplicon (median readlengths of 600bps even though seem like there are more sequecing errors). However, if you pool amplicons of different size and different loci, it completely stuffs up (Lot more key pass and filter pass failures). Apparently due to high signal intensities. Since, Roche will not support it hard to get much information out from them. Not sure why this happens but would be great to get some feedback from any one who has been able to get it working.
Abha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 12:31 PM   #4
proteasome
Member
 
Location: Wisconsin

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 22
Default

We've seen the same problem: when mixing amplicons, particularly of different sizes, FLX+ has significant issues. I would note that we routinely pool different sized amplicons on a GS-Jr and don't see any abnormalities in read length or distribution. In the FLX+ runs we've done the reads are either short or scant or both
proteasome is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO