Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Very high coverage w/Ion Torrent

Hi, just want to say that I'm a total newb so bear with me!

I have some bacterial WGS data from Ion Torrent system, and my lab has Geneious software which I'm using to do de novo assembly (among other things). I downloaded the new MIRA plugin for Geneious, and ran it with my reads but it quit on me because it detected very high coverage (>80x). Also the Geneious default assembler is taking muuuuch longer than usual to assemble it. I looked back at the data and this strain had a lot more reads than the other strains, so I've decided to throw out some of the reads.

I had trimmed the data already, but what I really need is for someone to tell me how to randomly select ~2 million reads to throw out! Can I just delete the first 2 million in the fastq file? For some reason I haven't been able to find any info on how to do this, kinda feel like it's a dumb question haha.

Originally posted by megster View Post
    I had trimmed the data already, but what I really need is for someone to tell me how to randomly select ~2 million reads to throw out! Can I just delete the first 2 million in the fastq file? For some reason I haven't been able to find any info on how to do this, kinda feel like it's a dumb question haha.
    I don't know about Ion Torrent, but some platforms have low quality reads concentrated into one part of the file (for example, there might be a bubble on the Illumina platform) so I would recommend subsampling randomly, or normalizing rather subsampling.

To subsample randomly or normalize, you can use BBTools:

reformat.sh in=reads.fq out=sampled.fq samplebases=100000000

That will sample exactly 100 megabases (plus at most 1 read length) randomly from the entire file. Requires reading the file twice. You can alternately get an approximate sampling like this:

reformat.sh in=reads.fq out=sampled.fq samplerate=0.25