SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > Sample Prep / Library Generation



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ChIP- Different DNA size for Input DNA and ChIP DNA on Agilent Bioanalyzer rahulr1485 Epigenetics 19 05-17-2013 08:14 PM
Agilent Bioanalyzer refuses to size bands pmiguel Sample Prep / Library Generation 13 03-09-2012 03:29 AM
Alternatives to Roche Shotgun and PE protocol Raj 454 Pyrosequencing 1 04-08-2011 04:09 AM
Agilent Bioanalyzer 2100 detects no DNA obischof Sample Prep / Library Generation 5 01-11-2011 07:15 AM
Alternatives to sfffile & sffinfo Xterra 454 Pyrosequencing 5 06-28-2010 07:09 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2011, 10:43 AM   #1
rmetz
Junior Member
 
Location: College Station, TX

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Default Agilent Bioanalyzer alternatives?

My Agilent Bioanalyzer is giving me fits lately! Any one have suggestions for alternative systems for analyzing fragment sizes (other than gels)?
rmetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 07:35 PM   #2
SamCurt
Member
 
Location: Iowa

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 40
Default

Bio-Rad Experion.
SamCurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 04:44 AM   #3
kmcarr
Senior Member
 
Location: USA, Midwest

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,168
Default

Agilent has a new system that fills the same space as the BioAnalyzer but is reportedly simpler and faster. It's called the TapeStation.
kmcarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 09:03 AM   #4
pmiguel
Senior Member
 
Location: Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,315
Default

Caliper LabChipGX.

What problems are you having? Most issues have work-arounds...

--
Phillip
pmiguel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 05:56 PM   #5
adaptivegenome
Super Moderator
 
Location: US

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 437
Default

I use the Qiaxcel system. It works for me as well as the Bioanalyzer but the sample cost is about 4 times lower. It does use gel capillaries and the array lasts for only 6 months at a time so if you are not a high volume user, it might not be as cost effective as it is for me.
adaptivegenome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 06:39 AM   #6
rmetz
Junior Member
 
Location: College Station, TX

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmiguel View Post
Caliper LabChipGX.

What problems are you having? Most issues have work-arounds...

--
Phillip
Phillip, I run very diverse sample types, and it almost always gives errors about unexpected sizes, can't calculate RINs (not a big problem), it gives data in seconds rather than bp and won't switch unless I go in and do a smear analysis. Sometimes I'll run a sample, and run it again a hour later and get a completely different profile. It's just become a hassle.

Thanks everyone for the suggestions. Any thoughts, reviews and/or experiences with these other systems?
rmetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 06:30 AM   #7
veronica
Junior Member
 
Location: Italy

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmiguel View Post
Caliper LabChipGX.

What problems are you having? Most issues have work-arounds...

--
Phillip
Hi Phillip,

Are you a LabChip GXI user?? If so, do it work fine in your hands?
veronica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 06:02 AM   #8
JakobHedegaard
Member
 
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veronica View Post
Hi Phillip,

Are you a LabChip GXI user?? If so, do it work fine in your hands?
Hi,

I would also like to hear from people with experience working with the LabChip GX.
/Jakob
JakobHedegaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 06:28 AM   #9
pmiguel
Senior Member
 
Location: Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,315
Default

No we just use an Agilent Bioanalyzer purchased back in 2003. Over the years we have gradually increased our use of it. But we are still not to the point where we need that kind of throughput.

--
Phillip
pmiguel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 12:34 PM   #10
garciad1
Junior Member
 
Location: San Antonio, TX

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Default Using Qiaxcel for NGS

Quote:
Originally Posted by adaptivegenome View Post
I use the Qiaxcel system. It works for me as well as the Bioanalyzer but the sample cost is about 4 times lower. It does use gel capillaries and the array lasts for only 6 months at a time so if you are not a high volume user, it might not be as cost effective as it is for me.
We recently installed a Qiaxcel in our lab, but the training was horrible. Could you tell me what run parameters, marker, etc. you use for running NGS libraries for sizing etc.? I can't seem to find any references for using the system for this purpose. --Thanks!
garciad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 12:57 PM   #11
kwaraska
Senior Member
 
Location: Boston,MA

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 122
Default

We have the Tape Station for Agilent. While the RNA tapes are still a bit lacking, my favorite is the genomic tape so you can look at much larger sizes.
Comes in most handy when a customer gives us a library that is "200-400 bases-I swear" and nothing shows up on Tape Station High Sens DNA Assay. We can then run it on a genomic and show them their size is out of whack, and allow them to decide what to do.

It is also great in that each sample runs at the same time in its own lane. That speeds up the time but also prevents one sample from messing up everything later in the chip.

I'd be happy to talk off the board if you have specific questions.

BTW-we have both Tape Station and Bioanalyzer so I am speaking from experience with both
kwaraska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 06:14 AM   #12
dannydesloover
Junior Member
 
Location: Philadelphia

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default Advanced Analytical is my personal favorite

I came from a lab in industry that trialed the BioA, TapeStation, Caliper system and Advanced Analytical fragment analyzer. While other groups in the company chose the BioA for the sake of "it's the standard," we chose the Advanced Analytical as it outperformed in almost every way, including running fragment analysis of dirty digests, without getting clogged.

I now work in an academic NGS core that uses a TapeStation and have been beating my head against a wall with its poor performance and reagents that expire either on the exact week of expiration or two weeks before.

AA also now sells a NGS specific system that I would gladly trade-in for the tapestation if I could. http://www.aati-us.com/instruments/f...yanalysis.html
dannydesloover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 06:25 AM   #13
kmcarr
Senior Member
 
Location: USA, Midwest

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannydesloover View Post
I came from a lab in industry that trialed the BioA, TapeStation, Caliper system and Advanced Analytical fragment analyzer. While other groups in the company chose the BioA for the sake of "it's the standard," we chose the Advanced Analytical as it outperformed in almost every way, including running fragment analysis of dirty digests, without getting clogged.

I now work in an academic NGS core that uses a TapeStation and have been beating my head against a wall with its poor performance and reagents that expire either on the exact week of expiration or two weeks before.

AA also now sells a NGS specific system that I would gladly trade-in for the tapestation if I could. http://www.aati-us.com/instruments/f...yanalysis.html
So how much does that instrument cost?
kmcarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 06:46 AM   #14
dannydesloover
Junior Member
 
Location: Philadelphia

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default

I don't remember off the top of my head, the big brother version was significantly more expensive than the BioA/Tapestation.

However I saw them at SLAS this past year and their new system I think is trying to compete with the BioA and TS, but again, not certain. I imagine it's a bit more. I am certain that operational (per sample costs) to be less. Other perks are you're not locked into using the vendor supplied ladder and you can go out to 40Kb for DNA QC, Tilling, etc and change gels to do total/mRNA (with quality score), etc. The software was surprisingly feature-rich, unlike the the tapestation.

Last edited by dannydesloover; 03-12-2013 at 04:43 AM.
dannydesloover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:42 AM   #15
EvelyneLuyten
Junior Member
 
Location: Belgium

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Default

We use the fragment analyzer from AATI, costs 31303.8€, cheaper per sample than bioanalyzer.
For implementation in our lab, this was easier than the LabChip GX because it can switch easily between different applications.

We see that our fragment analyzer shifts some peaks (sonicated samples) to the lower marker (to the left) unlike with the bioanalyzer. Does anyone have any idea how this is possible and what to trust???

Thanks!
EvelyneLuyten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 09:46 PM   #16
Azazel
Member
 
Location: Japan

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannydesloover View Post
I came from a lab in industry that trialed the BioA, TapeStation, Caliper system and Advanced Analytical fragment analyzer. While other groups in the company chose the BioA for the sake of "it's the standard," we chose the Advanced Analytical as it outperformed in almost every way, including running fragment analysis of dirty digests, without getting clogged.
Is this published anywhere? Data showing Fragment Analyzer outperforming Bioanalyzer? If published, would be thankful for a pointer. I'm interested in alternatives to BA as well especially if there is data showing that/how the alternative is better.
Azazel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 09:37 AM   #17
northpaw
Junior Member
 
Location: CA

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Default

Illumina R&D has transitioned away from chip-based systems and is now releasing new sample prep kits recommending the Fragment Analyzer:

http://res.illumina.com/documents/pr...rna-access.pdf

Illumina recently announced Advanced Analytical as an automation partner for their Fragment Analyzer system:

http://applications.illumina.com/app...utomation.html
northpaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 05:53 AM   #18
batpat
Junior Member
 
Location: Germany

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garciad1 View Post
We recently installed a Qiaxcel in our lab, but the training was horrible. Could you tell me what run parameters, marker, etc. you use for running NGS libraries for sizing etc.? I can't seem to find any references for using the system for this purpose. --Thanks!
I am also interested in using the QIAxcell for this purpose, could you share some expertize with us?
batpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 02:57 PM   #19
bilyl
Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 52
Default

We have a fragment analyzer and a labchip GX. I haven't seen the former being used very much in our facility but the GX gets a lot of play. Personally I like it a lot because the assays are very similar to the Bioanalyzer.
bilyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2015, 12:22 PM   #20
knp
Junior Member
 
Location: New Mexico

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Default Can Qiaxcel be used instead of Bioanalyzer for Library QC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by adaptivegenome View Post
I use the Qiaxcel system. It works for me as well as the Bioanalyzer but the sample cost is about 4 times lower. It does use gel capillaries and the array lasts for only 6 months at a time so if you are not a high volume user, it might not be as cost effective as it is for me.
I'm hoping to purchase a MiSEQ in the next few months and wondering whether I need a Bioanalzyer as I already have a Qiaxcel - can you use the Qiaxcel for library QC? Do you have any SOPs for doing this?

Thanks,
k
knp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bioanalyzer alternatives

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO