SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BLAST+ creating custom blast database and using blast+ filtering features deniz Bioinformatics 3 07-07-2019 08:04 AM
BLAST help horvathdp Bioinformatics 1 12-14-2011 07:33 AM
BLAST+ vs BLASTALL (legacy BLAST) Symphysodon Bioinformatics 4 10-25-2011 02:52 PM
BLAST database error - when changing to new BLAST+ local program biobio Bioinformatics 4 06-15-2011 05:20 AM
blast AndyOD Bioinformatics 3 03-07-2010 05:59 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2013, 09:15 AM   #1
Guigra
Member
 
Location: Brazil

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 17
Default Need help with blast...

Hi,
Does anyone know if I need to make a assembly of my alignment before attempting to make a blast?
I'm asking because after I do an alignment on BWA, I created a file in fasta format to make a blast. But the output file is similar to a sequence without anything aligned.

Someone can help me?
Guigra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 09:21 AM   #2
Cofactor Genomics
Registered Vendor
 
Location: St. Louis

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 52
Default

Hello Guigra,
Can you share your alignment parameters with the group here... as well as confirm you expect the two to align because you established this with the prior BWA alignments? There are a number of very experienced BLAST users on the board here (as well as on our team) that can help if you provide more information.

My best.

Jarret Glasscock
Cofactor Genomics
http://www.cofactorgenomics.com
Cofactor Genomics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 09:32 AM   #3
Guigra
Member
 
Location: Brazil

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 17
Default

Hello,
After doing the alignment with BWA, I need to pass the generated file to fasta format, so I can make a blast.
But when I do this, apparently the fasta file generated seems only the reads. Lose alignment. You know what's happening?
I use te samtools to pass the file in sam format for bam format, and after I use the blast2fastx to convert the alignment in bam format to fasta format.
I don't know if have some influence, but I'm work with the paired-end.
Guigra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 10:11 AM   #4
westerman
Rick Westerman
 
Location: Purdue University, Indiana, USA

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,104
Default

FastA *is* only the sequence; aka, reads. The alignment and other information will be lost.
westerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO