SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long amplicons failed to sequence in MiSeq run (where shorter random DNA succeeded) JamieHeather Illumina/Solexa 6 11-30-2012 03:59 AM
removed reads that failed vendor QC and their mates jorge Bioinformatics 2 04-25-2012 09:03 AM
Failed chastity reads blindtiger454 RNA Sequencing 1 06-09-2011 05:00 AM
Bowtie and reads that failed to align: (100.00%) michy Bioinformatics 7 02-08-2011 06:42 PM
TopHat+BWT = reads that failed to align ~ 99% repinementer Bioinformatics 6 09-28-2010 07:31 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2014, 03:57 PM   #1
Poni
Junior Member
 
Location: Australia

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default MiSeq PE reads R1 failed only R2 worked

Hi,

I sequenced a pooled library of 22 samples using Nextera library preparation kit provided by Illumina. A 250bp run was performed and a high cluster density was observed during the run, however, after performing quality trimming it was noticed only the singletons generated from R1 was remaining and R2 was exhibiting very low length of only around 30-40 bp. Also the yield for R1 was lower than expected.
Prior to running the library a Bioanalyzer chip was analyzed and a KAPA titration was performed after pooling. The Bioanalyzer chip gave a good curve.
May I please know what could be the reason for this failure? Is it possible that MiSeq is overloaded? Does it something to do with the library prep?

Thanks
Poni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 04:17 PM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,978
Default

What was the cluster density? Were these V3 reagents?

In a case like this it may be best to work with illumina tech support (there is probably local support in your time zone) who will generally do a remote "GoToMyPC" type session to look at your MiSeq, if it is available on the network. Otherwise they will ask you to send some data/log files. Tech support should be able to take a look at the data and help you diagnose the run either way.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO