SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Introductions

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
infinite fold change RNAseq biofreak Bioinformatics 6 07-02-2012 10:02 AM
EdgeR Fold Change Calculation umnklang Bioinformatics 3 06-21-2012 12:17 AM
DESeq DiffExpress Vs. Fold Change KellerMac Bioinformatics 3 06-10-2011 10:49 AM
fold change value-cuffdiff madsaan Bioinformatics 4 02-10-2011 06:51 AM
fold change for genes with 0 reads rnaseq General 2 11-04-2010 07:44 PM

Old 01-24-2014, 09:11 AM   #1
dbaud

Default Standardized Fold Change

Hi,

I'm new to the field of RNA-seq and my question might seem obvious to most of you, but
I'm trying to find a clear definition of the standardized fold change. As I haven't come up with anything useful off usual search engines, I hope someone has heard of this concept.
Does anyone know about the standardized fold change of a gene between 2 conditions?
dbaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 09:26 AM   #2
westerman
Rick Westerman

If you are asking "what fold change is considered to be significant" then the answer is "do not use fold changes for significance; statistical methods are better but if you really want to use a fold change then go for a 3x fold change."

If you mean something else by "standardized fold change" then you will probably have to make your question more clear.
westerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 09:34 AM   #3
Simon Anders

As you are new to the field, I suppose you have come across this term and think it is a quantity in common use. To save you trouble: No, it is not. It is something specific to the paper you read it in.

A "fold change" is simply the ratio of the expressions of a gene in two conditions. I still think that "fold change" is a silly word and cannot shake off the feeling that it must have started as an explanation of the term "ratio" to a mathematically illiterate person, but now we are stuck with it.