SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deleting sequence lacking quality scores from FASTQ? bwc22 Bioinformatics 2 02-23-2016 08:59 PM
a question about FastQC's quality scores kshen Bioinformatics 3 03-27-2013 01:56 AM
FASTQC: Quality Scores rlowe Bioinformatics 2 05-02-2012 12:37 AM
Per Base Quality scores in FastQC mittymat Illumina/Solexa 3 03-30-2012 05:34 AM
Quality scores and sequence alignment warrenemmett General 0 09-01-2010 05:35 AM

Old 05-20-2017, 03:08 AM   #1
Wilro

Exclamation Fastqc Per sequence quality scores - Two peaks?

Hi,

I am struggling to find possible explanations for seeing two distinct peaks in my "per sequence quality scores". I am very new to this, so hope it's not a very silly question. As far as I understand it should not be a major concern, however I would like to understand why this is.

There is also two peaks for GC content in sequences, with very low adapter content at the end of reads.

Sanger/Illumina 1.9 encoding
The sequence data is from an unknown clinical sample from hospital, for the purpose of identifying possible pathogens.

Kind regards,
Wilro

Last edited by Wilro; 05-20-2017 at 03:12 AM. Reason: Added information
Wilro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 03:58 AM   #2
mastal

I wouldn't worry about the two peaks in the per sequence quality scores although it looks a bit unusual.

Are the reads all the same length if it is Illumina data, or have they already been trimmed by the sequencing center?

The per sequence GC content is more important, and could indicate contamination, but if you are expecting pathogens in the sample, then it could indicate a mixture of human genome and pathogen genomes perhaps.
mastal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 05:26 AM   #3
Wilro