No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clipping adapters

Hello readers ,

I will start with the caveat that I am a newbie fumbling along the process of teaching myself how to analyse my Tru-seq data.

I tried excising the below mentioned adapter and the output has dwindled to ~20% of the original reads. This seems erroneous, I did not allow for any wiggle room with mis-matches. Is this too stringent? Or is there a wholesale error in the way i went about things? What happens to all the non-clipped reads?

Thanks

Info: Clipping Adapter: CGATGT
    Min. Length: 15
    Non-Clipped reads - discarded.
    Input: 36838900 reads.
    Output: 5341173 reads.
    discarded 1539984 too-short reads.
    discarded 127004 adapter-only reads.
    discarded 29709745 non-clipped reads.
    discarded 120994 N reads.

It looks to me that most of your discarded reads are "non-clipped." Why are you discarding these? If no adapter sequence is in the the read, then I am not sure why you would want to discard this.

What program are you using for the adapter trimming and what are the settings?

The truseq adapters are actually 63 bp long and the barcodes are somewhere in the middle of these adapters, if I remember correctly. Did you trim using the full 63 bp adapter, or just the 6bp sequence you listed? That could probably throw it off.
    Last edited by chadn737; 05-26-2011, 12:16 PM.

Comment

dear chadn737,

It is clear to me that now there is a "level zero" and I am at it ....sigh.

I used the the clip tool in Galaxy. I left all the settings pretty much on default except for changing the clip sequence to "custom".

I didn't know the adapters were 63bps. I got the 6 bp sequence from a page of the illumina manual posted by a blogger in this forum. We outsourced the library prep and they used Kit A with adaper indexes 2,4,5,6,7 & 12 and these I assumed were 6bps.

Forgive my ignorance, what would it mean to have reads without the adapters?

Thanks

Comment