SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error in coverting SRA to fastq yixf RNA Sequencing 26 08-09-2015 04:55 PM
Sequence Read Archive downloads and Aspera iquigley Bioinformatics 4 02-04-2013 11:18 PM
SRA study metadata download ersgupta Bioinformatics 15 12-05-2011 12:53 AM
Annovar, not downloading refGeneMrna.fa ketan_bnf Bioinformatics 0 01-14-2011 06:50 PM
downloading GOSeq R package issues RockChalkJayhawk Bioinformatics 6 06-30-2010 06:09 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2012, 01:41 PM   #1
carmeyeii
Senior Member
 
Location: Mexico

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 137
Unhappy Downloading SRA Study using Aspera - Error

Hi,

I've tried this in all the ways I can and I just can't seem to download this study using aspera. I've installed it correctly but something about what I'm giving it is not working. Can anybody help me out as to what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks a lot,
Carmen

This is the DATA I'm trying to get:

ftp://ftp-trace.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sra...09%2FSRP009660

This is my command line:

carmen@genomics:~$ ascp -QTR -l640M -i ~/.aspera/connect/etc/asperaweb_id_dsa.putty anonftp@ftp-private.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov:/sra/sra-instant/reads/ByStudy/sra/SRP/SRP009/SRP009247

ascp: Source file list not specified, exiting.


carmeyeii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:50 PM   #2
carmeyeii
Senior Member
 
Location: Mexico

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 137
Default

I have removed the -i and it seems to work but now it asks for the password:

anonftp@ftp-private.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov's password
carmeyeii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 02:22 PM   #3
Richard Finney
Senior Member
 
Location: bethesda

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 700
Default

This works for me:
/h1/finneyr/.aspera/connect/bin/ascp -QTr -l 400M -i /h1/finneyr/.aspera/connect/etc/asperaweb_id_dsa.putty anonftp@ftp-private.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov:/sra/sra-instant/reads/ByStudy/sra/SRP/SRP009/SRP009247 .


Try a dot at the end of the command.

Here's my session ...
/h1/finneyr/.aspera/connect/bin/ascp -QTr -l 400M -i /h1/finneyr/.aspera/connect/etc/asperaweb_id_dsa.putty anonftp@ftp-private.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov:/sra/sra-instant/reads/ByStudy/sra/SRP/SRP009/SRP009247 .
SRR363728.sra 0% 18KB 0.0 b/s --:--
SRR363728.sra 100% 89MB 283Mb/s 00:02
SRR363727.sra 23% 46MB 369Mb/s 00:04 ETA
... blah blah blah ... control-c ... cuz i don't need this data ...


If aspera does not work, there's always FTP. You can also write a script using wget (which can use the ftp protocol , of course).

Last edited by Richard Finney; 11-30-2012 at 02:27 PM.
Richard Finney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 01:56 PM   #4
carmeyeii
Senior Member
 
Location: Mexico

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 137
Default

Hi,

Thanks for your help. I wasn't writing the dot . at the end, but now that I do, it still asks me for the password! :/
carmeyeii is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO