SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reference guided assembly StopCodon De novo discovery 5 06-25-2013 09:49 AM
transcriptome assembly with reference Chuckytah Bioinformatics 0 02-05-2013 06:34 AM
How I find not assembly read in a reference assembly??? matiasfreired Bioinformatics 1 04-05-2012 12:13 PM
de novo assembly vs. reference assembly fadista General 3 02-15-2011 11:11 PM
bacterial consensus sequence reference guided assembly Kerensa Bioinformatics 0 01-10-2011 08:38 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2013, 03:21 PM   #1
Daniel Fernandez
Member
 
Location: Lima. Perú

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Default Assembly with Reference Sequence

Hi, anybody can tell me about one program to assembly with a reference sequence (in Linux)
I use CAP3 but this can't use a reference sequence.

Well I need assembly more than 300 million, so I prefer a command program like CAP3
Or I can use other program (blast) to choose the best reads (less 500) and then assembly this hits with a reference sequences with a graphic program.

I've been looking but no luck.
Daniel Fernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 04:15 PM   #2
fahmida
Member
 
Location: Australia

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 54
Default

What is your sequencing platform? assuming illumina you can use Velvet's Columbus module as suggested by:
http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17577
fahmida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 12:21 AM   #3
sklages
Senior Member
 
Location: Berlin, DE

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Fernandez View Post
Hi, anybody can tell me about one program to assembly with a reference sequence (in Linux)
I use CAP3 but this can't use a reference sequence.

Well I need assembly more than 300 million, so I prefer a command program like CAP3
Or I can use other program (blast) to choose the best reads (less 500) and then assembly this hits with a reference sequences with a graphic program.

I've been looking but no luck.
Not much information you provide :-)
type of input material? type of data? type of reference?

Have a look at http://seqanswers.com/wiki/Software to get idea of what software might be doing the job for you. There are numerous mappers (assuming you refer to mappping).
sklages is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 08:20 AM   #4
Daniel Fernandez
Member
 
Location: Lima. Perú

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Well, this is the link, it is 454 (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sra/SRX172665).
This genome is in SRA and I converted to fastq and then fasta. My reference sequences are genes in fasta.
I'm trying with Velvet thanks for the recommendation, if anymore have other sugestion, thanks.
Daniel Fernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
alignment, assembly, cap3, reference assembly

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO