SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New rRNA removal kit for RNA-Seq epibio Vendor Forum 45 09-19-2013 07:38 AM
Globin & rRNA removal from blood RNA epibio Vendor Forum 0 02-18-2013 08:20 AM
Unexpected Bioanalyzer profile after Ribo-Zero bacterial rRNA removal bernardo_bello Sample Prep / Library Generation 5 05-30-2012 06:31 AM
New Ribo-Zero rRNA removal kits for plant RNA epibio Vendor Forum 0 05-19-2011 12:46 PM
bacterial RNA sequencing and rRNA removal dca Sample Prep / Library Generation 0 12-08-2010 12:23 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2014, 06:16 PM   #1
Polecat
Member
 
Location: Australia

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 11
Default riboPicker for rRNA removal from sequence data

hi,
I have used Ribopicker online in the past to remove any remaining rRNA sequences from the mRNA enriched libraries I made from soil metatranscriptomes sequenced on an Illumina HiSeq using a TruSeq stranded kit. Since this resource is now unavailable I have been trying to use the standalone version on my server.

Have any users of this program encountered problems with formatting the green genes database for Ribopicker? The online manual is out of date so refers to an old file on the old green genes site (greengenes16SrRNAgenes.txt.gz). None of the new file formats listed on the new green genes site (fasta, pynast, sql, otu etc etc) look the same as the one in the manual.

In desperation I even tried using the 2012 version of the file in the manual but it won't unzip, giving me the error message: invalid compressed data--format violated.

Have any Ribopicker users got a work around for this, or are people using SortMe instead for rRNA removal from metatranscriptomes? TIA.
Polecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 02:50 AM   #2
bastianwur
Member
 
Location: Germany/Netherlands

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 98
Default

I've tried to use RiboPicker before, but it turns out that our server doesn't have enough RAM (has 256 GB).
And yes, we use sortMeRNA instead.
bastianwur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO